Limerick's Sean Finn and Clare's Aron Shanagher will face each other. Cathal Noonan/INPHO
Team news

4 senior players in Clare U21 side as Limerick make one change for Munster semi-final

The sides meet at the Gaelic Grounds tomorrow night.

CLARE HAVE NAMED four players who have tasted senior championship action this summer in their side for tomorrow night’s Bord Gáis Energy Munster U21 hurling semi-final against Limerick.

Centre-back David Fitzgerald and full-forward Aron Shanagher both started in Sunday’s Munster senior final defeat to Cork.

Midfielder Jason McCarthy came on as a substitute in that game while centre-forward Ian Galvin, a brother of Colm, cane on and scored a point in last month’s senior semi-final success against Limerick.

Limerick boast a strong side who blitzed Tipperary with a 2-24 to 0-19 victory in their quarter-final tie.

They have made a single change from that game as Thomas Grimes comes into the side at left half-back and Josh Adams drops to the bench.

Six of their team featured for the Limerick senior side in their championship exit at the hands of Kilkenny last Saturday week.

Corner-back Sean Finn, centre-back Kyle Hayes, centre-forward Cian Lynch and corner-forward Peter Casey all started that game.

Captain and full-forward Tom Morrissey came on as a substitute, as did corner-forward Barry Nash.

Throw-in at the Gaelic Grounds tomorrow night is 7.30pm.


1. Killian Nugent (O’Callaghan’s Mills)

2. Ciaran Cooney (O’Callaghan’s Mills)
3. Dara Walsh (Éire Óg)
4. Conor O’Halloran (Éire Óg)

5. Con Smyth (Feakle)
6. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)
7. Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones)

8. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
9. Michael O’Malley (Kilmaley)

10. Ben O’Gorman (Wolfe Tones)
11. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
12. Brian Cahill (Kilmaley)

13. Colin Corbett (Tulla)
14. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones)
15. Billy Connors (Cratloe)


16. Dan Vaughan (Tulla)
17. Michael Moloney (Éire Óg)
18. Michael O’Shea (Smith O’Brien’s)
19. Padraic O’Loughlin (Clonlara)
20. Cathal Noonan (Killanena)
21. Jack Cunningham (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
22. Darren Chaplin (Broadford)
23. Ronan Monahan (Tubber)
24. Evan McMahon (Feakle)


1. Eoghan McNamara (Doon)

2. Sean Finn (Bruff)
3. Darragh Fanning (Pallasgreen)
4. Dan Joy (Kilmallock)

5. Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
7. Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh)

8. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)
9. Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock)

10. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
11. Barry Murphy (Doon)
12. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

13. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Tom Morrissey (Ahane – captain)
15. Barry Nash (South Liberties)


16. Cian Hedderman (Ballybrown)
17. Josh Adams (Ballybrown)
18. Paudie Ahern (Killeedy)
19. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)
20. Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen)
21, Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen)
22. Mike Mackey (Adare)
23. Conor McSweeney (South Liberties)
24. Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Poll: Who do you now think will be crowned All-Ireland senior hurling champions in 2017?

‘The last 11 months were tough and people were asking were we ever going to beat Kilkenny’

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.