This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 4 °C Sunday 15 December, 2019

1-8 for David Reidy as Clare leave it late to seal victory over Tipperary

Cusack Park played host to the encounter.

David Reidy (file pic).
David Reidy (file pic).
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Clare 1-21

Tipperary 0-19

Páraic McMahon reports from Cusack Park, Ennis

CLARE PICKED UP a valuable two points as they got their Allianz National Hurling League Divison 1 campaign off to a winning start defeating Tipperary.

Leading by five points, ten minutes into the second half, Clare could have wrapped things up a lot sooner than they eventually did. Instead they allowed Tipperary to equalise and put themselves under pressure for the final quarter. During this period, David Reidy got the only shot on goal and the Ennis man left Paul Maher with no chance raising a green flag with the final puck of the game.

Prior to this encounter, Tipperary had won four of the past five League meetings between the sides. A win was needed by the Banner County to tidy up this statistics and also to tie in with their philosophy of making Cusack Park a fortress.

Up front, the home side posed more of an attacking threat. Shane O’Donnell though he did not get on the scoresheet set the standard with his workrate and set up the bulk of Cathal Malone’s four points. They will need to work on the dropping high ball as this led to plenty scoring opportunities for their opponents.

Only three of Tipperary’s nine forwards to feature got on the scoresheet and of their nineteen point tally, twelve were from placed balls. Noel McGrath impressed at centre forward and although they played smart hurling for large spells, a more solid performance is needed the next day out.

Padraic Maher, Alan Flynn and Ronan Maher with John Conlon Action from today. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

With the games set to come thick and fast, a winning start will please Gerry O’Connor and Donal Moloney. They travel to Kilkenny on 4 February while Michael Ryan’s men host Waterford in their next outing. The stakes will increase when these two sides meet again in the Munster championship when Thurles will be the setting on 10 June.

Scorers for Clare: David Reidy 1-8 (0-6f), Cathal Malone, Peter Duggan (0-2f) 0-4 each, Tony Kelly, John Conlon 0-2 each, Colm Galvin 0-1.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jason Forde 0-10 (0-10f), Noel McGrath 0-5 (0-2f), Cathal Barrett, Padraic Maher, Ronan Maher, Sean Curran 0-1 each.


1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)

4. Patrick O’Connor (Capt) (Tubber)
3. Conor Cleary (St Josephs Miltown)
2. Jack Browne (Ballyea)

7. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
6. David McInerney (Tulla)
5. David Fitzgerald (Inagh/Kilnamona)

8. Colm Gavin (Clonlara)
9. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)

10. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
11. John Conlon (Clonlara)
12. David Reidy (Éire Óg)

13. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)
14. Peter Duggan (Clooney/Quin)
15. Conor McGrath (Cratloe)


21. Podge Collins (Cratloe) for McGrath (HT)
19. Ian Galvin (Clonlara) for Duggan (65)
22. Niall Deasy (Ballyea) for Malone (67)
18. Gearoid O’Connell (Ballyea) for C Galvin (68)


1. Paul Maher (Moyne-Templetuohy)

2. Alan Flynn (Kiladangan)
3. Tomás Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy)
4. Donagh Maher (Burgess)

5. Séamus Kennedy (St. Mary’s, Clonmel)
6. Padraic Maher (Capt.) (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Tom Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)

8. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
9. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

10. Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh)
11. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
12. Seán Curran (Mullinahone)

15. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)
14. Jason Forde (Silvermines)
13. Ger Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)


25. Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule) for Fox (34)
18. Michael Breen (Ballina) for Kenny (45)
23. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney) for Browne (52)
20. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh) for Kennedy (59)
22. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh) for Patrick Maher (66)

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway)

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel