INPHO/James Crombie Waterford's Colm Curran and Clare's Seadna Morey.
# Banner
Goals crucial for Clare as they defeat Waterford in Munster U21 hurling semi-final
The sides battle it out to meet Tipperary in the final.

Clare 2-15
Waterford 0-17

SECOND-HALF GOALS by Seadna Morey and Aaron Cunningham helped Clare come from behind to beat Waterford in tonight’s Bord Gáis Energy Munster U21 hurling semi-final.

2,288 supporters were present in Walsh Park to watch the Banner advance past the Deise to set up a provincial final meeting with Tipperary on August 7th in Thurles.

And it was Clare who prevailed over a Waterford team hampered by the sending-off of Paudie Prendergast for a second yellow card offence early in the second-half.

Clare, the reigning All-Ireland champions in this grade, lost Tony Kelly in the 12th minute when he went off with a head injury. But they managed to fend off the challenge of a Waterford team inspired by senior attacker Jake Dillon who shot 0-13.

Clare started this game with 9 senior panelists and they exerted an early influence to lead by 0-3 to 0-0 by the 9th minute and were 0-7 to 0-3 clear after 20 minutes.

However Waterford fought back with Dillon shooting over five points without reply at one stage and despite Colm Galvin grabbing a late point, it was Waterford who lead by 0-10 to 0-9 at the break.

Waterford maintained that tempo early in the second-half to go clear by 0-14 to 0-11 but they were hit by the sending-off of Prendergast.

Clare started to move back into contention helped by strong performances from man-of-the-match Paraic Collins, Seadna Morey, Aaron Cunningham, Peter Duggan and Cathal O’Connell.

Morey kickstarted their revival when he rounded off a fine team move by bursting upfield to fire to the roof of the net. Waterford drafted in senior forward Pauric Mahony, who was unable to start due to injury, but they could not forge level.

And Cunningham blasted home Clare’s second goal late on to seal a passage to the final against Tipperary, in what will be repeat of last year’s decider at this grade.

INPHO/James Crombie

Scorers for Clare: Cathal O’Connell 0-7 (0-5f), Aaron Cunningham, Seadna Morey 1-0 each, Paraic Collins, Daire Keane, Stephen O’Halloran, Jamie Shanahan, Colm Galvin, Peter Duggan (0-1 sideline), Alan O’Neill (0-1f), Davy O’Halloran 0-1 each.
Scorers for Waterford: Jake Dillon 0-13 (0-11f), Pauric Mahony (0-1f), Stephen Roche, Donie Breathnach, Colm Curran 0-1 each.

CLARE: Ronan Taaffe (Tubber); Paul Flanagan (Ballyea), David McInerney (Tulla), Jack Browne (Ballyea); Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge), Alan O’Neill (St. Josephs Doora Barefield), Stephen O’Halloran (Clarecastle); Colm Galvin (Clonlara), Tony Kelly (Ballyea); Peter Duggan (Clooney Quin), Padraic Collins (Cratloe), Aaron Cunningham (Wolfetones); Shane O’Donnell (Eire Og), Daire Keane (Kilmaley), Cathal O’Connell (Clonlara).

Subs: Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge) for Kelly (inj) (12), David O’Halloran (Eire Og) for Keane (42), Cathal Malone (Ennistymon) for O’Donnell (53), Enda Boyce (Cratloe) for Shanahan (59).

WATERFORD: Darren Duggan (Dungarvan); Shane McNulty (De La Salle), Tadhg Bourke (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg), Shane Roche (Shamrocks); Ray Barry (Lismore), Darragh Fives (Tourin), Paudie Prendergast (Lismore); Kieran Power (Clonea), Donie Breathnach (An Rinn); Jake Dillon (De La Salle), Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater), Colm Curran (Dungarvan); Colin Dunford (Colligan), Stephen Roche (Mount Sion), Eamonn Murphy (Dunhill).

Subs: Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner) for Dunford (39), Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion) for Barron (46), Cormac Heffernan (Ferrybank) for Murphy (49).

Referee: Johnny Ryan (Tipperary)

Tipperary put 5 goals past Cork to book Munster U21 hurling final spot

Clare’s John Conlon: ‘I got a bang in the head and don’t remember the game’

Your Voice
Readers Comments