Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: -1°C Saturday 23 January 2021

St Rynagh's bridge 23-year gap in Offaly while Borris-Kilcotton capture first ever Laois title

Elsewhere there was hurling silverware up for grabs in Westmeath, Meath and Mayo.

Ronan Hughes, in action here for Offaly, scored the decisive goal.
Ronan Hughes, in action here for Offaly, scored the decisive goal.
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

ST RYNAGH’S ARE the senior hurling county champions in Offaly, finally putting an end to a dreadful run of eight straight county final defeats.

Twenty-three years on from their last senior county title, St Rynagh’s ran out 2-16 to 1-15 winners over Birr in O’Connor Park.

Despite trailing by eight points in the early stages in the second-half, Birr fought back and found themselves within a point with eight minutes left. But a late goal from man-of-the-match Ronan Hughes saw the Banagher club home.

In the Laois replay, Borris-Kilcotton captured the SHC title for the first time in their history with a 1-18 to 2-10 victory over Rathdowney-Errill.

PJ Scully hit 12-points for Borris-Kilcotton, who outscored their opponents by 0-8 to 0-3 down the home stretch.

Raharney lifted their 13th Westmeath SHC title today, having defeated Clonkill by 2-18 to 1-13.

Raharney had just two points on the board at the interval after playing against a strong breeze, but scored 2-16 after the break to seal the eight point win.

Kiltale were crowned champions in Meath, after their narrow 0-17 to 1-13 win over Killyon.

Finally, the Mayo final will go to a replay after Keith Higgins’s Ballyhaunis finished level with Tooreen on a scoreline of 1-15 to 2-12.

Reigning champions Castlebar Mitchels back in Mayo final after win over Ballintubber

1-11 for Pauric Mahony as Ballygunner complete Waterford hurling three-in-a-row

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel