Dublin: 17°C Saturday 2 July 2022

Clare's Colm Galvin and Cork's Brian Hurley win Munster U21 awards

Kerry’s Jack Savage and Limerick’s Ronan Lynch won the provinical minor awards.

Clare's Colm Galvin.
Clare's Colm Galvin.
Image: INPHO/Ryan Byrne

CLARE HURLER COLM Galvin and Cork footballer Brian Hurley have been named the U21 Players of the Year in the Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA awards.

Galvin was part of Clare’s senior and U21 All-Ireland winning sides while the Clonlara club man also won an Allstar award this year for his midfield displays.

Cork footballer Hurley wins the award for helping Cork claim Munster U21 football glory.  He was Cork’s top scorer in the 2013 All Ireland campaign with 2-18 to his name including 1-4 in the All Ireland Final as well as a further 1-13 in the senior ranks.

Meanwhile the 2013 Munster minor GAA awards have also been announced. Kerry footballer Jack Savage took the award in his second year at that level. He scored ten of the Kingdom’s 15 points in the Munster final defeat of Tipperary this summer.

Limerick hurler Ronan Lynch from the Na Piarsaigh club, won the Munster minor hurling award for his exploits that helped the county defeat Waterford in the provincial final replay. He shot 1-15 between the Munster final draw and replay.

The awards will be presented at a gala dinner at the Malton Hotel in Killarney on Saturday, December 7th.

GAA stars set to feature in Shanghai in the first official hurling game in China

Clare hurler McGrath wins suspension appeal to play in Munster club football final

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: