Advertisement
Ryan Byrne/INPHO
comments of the week

A heartwarming story from Croke Park - it's your comments of the week

Did your wise-crack make the cut?

THE BANK HOLIDAY Weekend’s double-headers in Croke Park aren’t likely to live in the memory for the right reasons but at least one young fan will remember his day out at GAA HQ.

PJ Kickham told the story of how a random act of kindness reminded him of what the GAA is all about.

“Nice story from Croker today, my 11 year old son and his buddy went under the Hogan stand to buy some chips (way over-priced at €4 for a small carton). Proudly wearing his Dubs Jersey he turned away and let the chips fall on the ground.

“As he bent down to pick them up to put them in the bin, a decent Kerryman and his wife came over to them and handed him a fiver and told him to leave the chips on the ground and get himself some fresh chips.

“Long after the results of today are forgotten, my son will remember this act of kindness, to me this is what the GAA is all about. Fair play and thanks to that man today. Also, well done to the Fermanagh fans for really getting behind your team today before, during and after the match, great attitude.”

The countdown to the Rugby World Cup is well and truly on this week the All Blacks revealed how they’ve somehow found a way to be even blacker at the tournament with new boots.

But Ed Burke wasn’t having any of it:

“I’ve looked closely and feel they may be just really, really, really, really, really really, dark navy.”

Ahead of his WBO middleweight championship defence in September, Andy Lee was this week named in a list of boxing’s top 10 punchers.

Reader Aidan Prior is all too aware of it and was careful not to pick a fight with the Limerick boxer when they crossed paths in a shop last weekend.

“I noticed Andy in my store on Saturday, and he was very unassuming and polite. He was then asked by his friend for some change and on his way over to her he banged into to something on display, so I tutted and stared at him, shook my head and gave him a dirty look. He smiled in an awkward way and said sorry. I then told him I knew who he was and that I wasn’t naive enough to pick a fight with a world title fighter. Wish him the best, great guy.”

Paul Murphy has noticed his Kilkenny team-mate has bulked up this year and James Quinn was quick to point out:

“It looks like there is more than TJ on the calf nuts in the Kilkenny team!”

In a new weekly feature, our own Sean Farrell will be solving your problems after the comments section in one of his pieces from Carton House during the week turned into a help section.

Colin Webber was one of those looking for some tips….

“Hi Sean, I keep nicking myself when I shave. Any tips as to how I can stop this? Cheers.”

Arsenal have recruited another GAA coach as Limerick minor hurling strength and conditioning coach Cairbre O Caireallain started work with the club on an internship.

Derek McCarthy was quick off the mark to point out that the Arsenal players might have some trouble getting their head around his name, however.

“Good luck to the arsenal lads pronouncing that, don’t forget the fada.”

Floyd Mayweather hit back at Ronda Rousey during the week by telling the UFC fighter to ‘call me when you make $300 million in 36 minutes.’

Oriainarama remarked that Ronda’s record speaks for itself.

“36 minutes is about 45 fights for Ronda!”

Brendan Cummins: Waterford conundrum, Kilkenny scoring power and Poc Fada glory

Exciting infrastructure announcements a good news story worth examining