This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 3 °C Wednesday 26 February, 2020

Jack Carty given first Connacht start as Leinster name Heaslip captain

Brian O’Driscoll is back in harness for the Pro12 champions who have named Jordi Murphy at number seven.

Image: ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

CONNACHT COACH PAT Lam has given 21-year-old out-half Jack Carty a shock first start for Connacht in tomorrow’s Pro12 derby with Leinster in Galway.

The Buccaneers man is in his third year in the Connacht academy and has earned international honours up to under 20 level as well as making three substitute appearances for his province.

With Dan Parks on the bench, Carty is part of an all-Irish back-line which includes Robbie Henshaw and Eoin Griffin partnered in midfield with Darragh Leader named at fullback.

“Jack has been involved with us in training all year,” says Lam, “and has had some good performances with the Eagles.

“It is a great boost to his development as a young Irish qualified 10 to play against such quality opposition and I know he is very much looking forward to the test.”

Andre Browne will win his 100th cap for the western province in the back-row alongside John Muldoon and Eoin McKeon. Craig Clarke captains the side from the second row.

Leinster, meanwhile, have recalled some of their international big guns as Rob Kearney, Brian O’Driscoll and Jamie Heaslip come back into the side.

Heaslip captains the side amid ongoing speculation that his time in Ireland could be limited. His return to number eight means Jordi Murphy is moved to openside flanker at the expense od Dominic Ryan.

Connacht: D Leader, F Carr, R Henshaw, E Griffin, M Healy, J Carty, K Marmion: B Wilkinson, J Harris-Wright, N White; M kearney, C Clarke  (Captain.), A Browne, J Muldoon, E McKeon

Replacements: D Heffernan, D Buckley, R Ah You, M Swift, G Naoupu, P O’Donohoe, D Parks, T O’Halloran.

Leinster: R Kearney, Z Kirchner, B O’Driscoll, G D’Arcy, L Fitzgerald, I Madigan; E Reddan: J Mcgrath, S Cronin, M Moore, D Toner, T Denton, R Ruddock, J Murphy, J Heaslip (Captain).

Replacements: A Dundon, J O’Connell, M Ross, M McCarthy, D Ryan, I Boss, J Gopperth, D Kearney.

Ulster v Munster: 3 key battles to decide tonight’s rumble in Ravenhill

Connacht’s Andrew Browne eager to end 100th cap with Leinster scalp

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: