This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Monday 17 December, 2018

New-look Cork hurlers hit the ground running with impressive win over Clare

Kieran Kingston’s debutants impress in Division 1A opener at Páirc Uí Rinn.

Nowhere to run: Clare's Jack Browne crowded out by Darragh Fitzgibbon and Alan Cadogan.
Nowhere to run: Clare's Jack Browne crowded out by Darragh Fitzgibbon and Alan Cadogan.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Cork 0-21
Clare 1-11

Denis Hurley reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

CORK ACHIEVED THEIR first regular-season Allianz HL Division 1A win since March 2015 as they pulled away from Clare in the second half at Páirc Uí Rinn on Saturday evening.

Having played well for much of the first half, the home side found themselves leading by just two points, 0-8 to 1-3, at half-time after Podge Collins’ goal for the reigning champions just before the break.

That Clare didn’t forge ahead on the resumption was largely down to Cork goalkeeper Anthony Nash, who saved a Tony Kelly penalty and the Aron Shanagher follow-up, with Cork then going on to get five of the next six points, the victory never really in doubt after that.

Mark Ellis and David Fitzgerald Mark Ellis skips away from David Fitzgerald. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Stand-in captain Alan Cadogan excelled for Cork in the first half, scoring four points, and that tally would be matched in the second by his Douglas clubmate Shane Kingston, one of five starters making their debuts.

Daniel Kearney was outstanding throughout at midfield, scoring two points, while two more debutants, Luke Meade and Darragh Fitzgibbon, made their mark too.

The defenders making their bows, David Griffin and Mark Coleman, made important interventions too, while Colm Spillane, who missed last year with a cruciate injury, did well apart from the concession of the penalty.

A flurry of late Tony Kelly points gave him a personal tally of six and debutant Aron Shanagher might have had a first-half goal, but the Banner will need a big improvement ahead of the home game with Kilkenny next week while Cork will hope to build on their momentum when they welcome Dublin.

Patrick Horgan and Cian Dillon Patrick Horgan and Cian Dillon scrap for possession. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-5 (0-4 frees), Shane Kingston, Alan Cadogan 0-4 each, Daniel Kearney, Luke Meade 0-2 each, Séamus Harnedy, Bill Cooper, Darragh Fitzgibbon, Dean Brosnan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Tony Kelly 0-6, Podge Collins 1-1, David Reidy 0-2f, Aron Shanagher, John Conlon 0-1 each.


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Killian Burke (Midleton)
3. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
4. David Griffin (Carrigaline)

5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
9. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)

15. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)
10. Séamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
11. Luke Meade (Newcestown)


19. Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers) for Ellis (59)
25. Robbie O’Flynn (Erin’s Own) for Fitzgibbon (62)
21. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk) for Cooper (68)
22. Paul Haughney (Midleton) for Kearney (68)
23. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers) for Kingston (70)


1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)

4. Séadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
3. Cian Dillon (Crusheen)
2. Jack Browne (Ballyea)

7. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge)
6. Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Milltown)
17. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)

8. Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)
9. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)

10. John Conlon (Clonlara)
11. Podge Collins (Cratloe)
12. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)

13. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones)
15. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg Inis)
14. David Reidy (Éire Óg Inis)


20. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Reidy (half-time)
5. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Golden (46)
22. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones) for Conlon (62)

Referee: John Keenan (Wicklow).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Tipperary open league in style with 16-point Croke Park win over Dublin

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next: