Great start to the day for Cork as minor hurlers book first All-Ireland final in 10 years

Cork will play Galway in the All-Ireland MHC final.

Cork 0-23

Dublin 2-13

Kevin O’Brien reports from Croke Park

THE CORK MINOR hurlers are back in their first All-Ireland final since 2007 after seeing off Dublin in today’s last four clash at Croke Park.

Conor O'Callaghan and Eoghan O'Neill Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Dublin scored a goal late in in either half – from Eoghan O’Neill and Mark Grogan – but Cork were good value for their victory, despite a nervy performance.

Brian Turnbull top-scored for the Rebels with 0-13, bringing his tally to 0-44 in Cork’s run to the final.

The Rebels had five players who started last weekend’s U17 All-Ireland success here over the same opposition, including midfielder Daire Connery who was excellent in both games. Both Turnbull and Connery did their future senior prospects no harm today.

Cork, managed by the highly experienced Denis Ring now in his fouth season, will play a talented Galway side in the final next month.

The first-half was an error ridden affair, with the teams hitting 13 wides between them.

Cork raced into an 0-7 to 0-2 lead inside the opening quarter, as Connery and Turnbull proved dangerous from placed balls and open play. Cork’s lead had stretched to seven before Eoghan O’Neill struck with a vital goal for Dublin right before half-time.

Cork's Sean O'Leary Hayes rises highest to contest a dropping ball Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Dublin needed a bright start to the second period but it was the Rebels who took control and four frees from Turnbull left them 0-17 to 1-6 ahead in the 40th minute.

Cork lost Downey to a second yellow card five minutes later and Dublin’s best spell followed. Currie and Murphy slotted over five frees between them, while O’Neill added a point to leave the Dubs trailing by 0-19 to 1-12.

Connery and Turnbull clipped over a few fress to round off the win, despite Grogan’s late three-pointer.

Scorers for Cork: Brian Turnbull 0-13 (0-11f), Daire Connery 0-5 (0-2f), Diarmuid Linehan and Brian Roche 0-2 each, Ger Millerick 0-1.

Scorers for Dublin: Eoghan O’Neill and Mark Grogan 1-1 each, Sean Currie 0-6 (0-3f), Liam Murphy 0-4 (0-3f) and Emmet Allen 0-1.


1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtarriffe)
3. Sean O’Leary Hayes (capt, Midleton)
4. Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)

5. Aaron Walsh Barry (Carrigtwohill)
6. James Keating (Kildorrery)
7. Ger Millerick (Fr. O Neill’s)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

8. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Diarmuid Linehan (Ballyhooly)

10. Craig Hanifin (Na Piarsaigh)
11. Liam O Shea (Lisgoold)
12. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)

13. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
15. Brian Turnbull (Douglas)


20. Barry Murphy (Castlelyons) for Hanafin (47)
23. Declan Hannon (Blarney) for Buckley (48)
24. Colin O’Brien (Liscaroll/Churchtown Gaels) for Roche (60)


1. Conor O’Donoghue (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

2. Andrew Dunphy (St Brigid’s)
3. Ben McHugh (Raheny)
4. Kevin Burke (Na Fianna)

5. Eoghan O’Neill (St Vincent’s)
6. Luke Walsh (Lucan Sarsfields)
7. Lee Gannon (Whitehall Colmcille)

8. David Keogh (Thomas Davis)
9. Ben Coffey (Lucan Sarsfields)

10. Mark Grogan (Kilmacud Crokes)
11. Emmet Allen (Lucan Sarsfields)
12. Enda O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)

13. Liam Murphy (Cuala)
14. Sean Currie (Na Fianna)
15. Luke McDwyer (Ballyboden St Enda’s)


11. Emmet Allen (Lucan Sarsfields) for Coffey (52)
23. Diamraid O Floinn (Cuala) for Derwin (52)
17. Tom Aherne (Ballinteer St John’s) for O’Donnell (62)

Referee: Mick Murtagh (Westmeath)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Pig farming, club history in Cork, Waterford hurling brothers – the Shane Fives story

All-Ireland final place at stake today – but can Waterford or Cork become regular contenders?

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: