Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Glen Rovers and Sarsfields on early collision course in 2016 Cork senior hurling championship

Football champions Nemo Rangers will face Duhallow in the opening round.

THE DRAWS HAVE been made for the 2016 Cork senior football and hurling club championships.

And the hurling draw has thrown up the early prospect of an early clash between Glen Rovers and Sarsfields, county finalists for the past two seasons.

In the preliminary round fixtures, holders Glen Rovers have been pitted with Carbery, while Sarsfields, who have contested the last four deciders, will take on Carrigtwohill in their opener.

The winners of those games will go head to head in round 2A of the competition.

In the senior football championship, holders Nemo Rangers will open the defence of their title against divisional outfit Duhallow.

Meanwhile, at Cork county board convention yesterday, a local by-law was amended, ensuring that all shirt numbers will be clearly visible on the back of club jerseys.

Here are the senior football and hurling draws: 

Senior Football Championship

Ken Sutton / INPHO Ken Sutton / INPHO / INPHO

Preliminary Round

Avondhu v Ilen Rovers

Round 1

(A) Aghada v Muskerry

(B) Beara v St Finbarrs

(C) Carbery Rangers v Clyda Rovers

(D) Dohenys v Douglas

(E) Newcestown v CIT

(F) Ballincollig v Bishopstown

(G) Valley Rovers v winners of Avondhu/Ilen Rovers

(H) Clonakilty v Castlehaven

(I)   Carbery v O’ Donovan Rossa

(J)   Seandun v UCC

(K) Nemo Rangers v Duhallow

(L)  St Nicholas v Carrigaline

Round 2A (Winners from Round 1)

I   v  B

L  v  G

J   v  F

D  v  C

E  v  H

A  v  K

Round 2B (Losers from Preliminary Round & Round 1)

Avondhu/Ilen Rovers v D

H  v  L

F  v  B

K  v  J

G  v  I

A  v  E

C a bye

Senior Hurling Championship

Cathal Noonan / INPHO Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

Preliminary Round

Killeagh v Muskerry

Round 1

(A) Erins Own v CIT

(B) Douglas v Na Piarsaigh

(C) Avondhu v Ballymartle

(D) Sarsfields v Carrigtwohill

(E) Glen Rovers v Carbery

(F) Blackrock v Ballyhea

(G) Duhallow v Carrigdhoun

(H) Midleton v Bishopstown

(I)  Bride Rovers v Youghal

(J)  St Finbarrs v Newcestown

(K) Newtownshandrum v winners of Killeagh/Muskerry

(L) Imokilly v UCC

Round 2A (winners from Round 1)

B  v  L

J   v  A

H  v  K

F  v  G

E  v  D

C  v  I

Round 2B (Losers from Preliminary Round & Round 1)

Killeagh/Muskerry v A

D  v  F

C  v  E

J   v  G

K  v  L

I    v  H

B a bye

Click here for the Premier Intermediate football, Premier Intermediate hurling, Intermediate football and Intermediate hurling draws.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.