Cathal Noonan/INPHO
Team news

Cody picks son at midfield for Kilkenny as goalkeeper Nash loses out on Cork team

All change for the Rebels ahead of the visit of the All-Ireland champions.

THERE ARE FIVE changes in personnel, and a number of positional alterations, on the Cork senior hurling team to play Kilkenny at Páirc Uí Rinn tomorrow evening in Division 1A of the Allianz Hurling League.

Manager Kieran Kingston has reacted to last weekend’s heavy defeat to Dublin, with goalkeeper Anthony Nash replaced between the sticks by Patrick Collins from Ballinhassig.

In defence, Mark Ellis is ruled out with a broken arm and Cormac Murphy loses out while further forward, midfielder Daniel Kearney and forward Patrick Cronin drop to the bench.

Patrick Collins Patrick Collins gets a start in goal for Cork. Cathal Noonan / INPHO Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

The players coming into the Cork side are Collins, Shane O’Neill, Lorcán McLoughlin, John Cronin and Paul Haughney.

McLoughlin and Haughney both appeared as subs at Croke Park last Saturday night and there’s a new midfield pairing on the Cork team, with Haughney partnering John Cronin in the engine room.

The absence of Ellis has led to a reshuffle in the Cork defence as Christopher Joyce moves from full-back to the centre back position that Ellis had occupied.

Consequently, Damian Cahalane makes the move from wing-back to the edge of the square.

A fourth straight League defeat of the season for Cork would definitely plunge them into a relegation playoff.

Kilkenny boss Brian Cody has made three changes for the Leeside visit, including son Diarmuid at midfield alongside Conor Fogarty.

Lester Ryan drops to the bench, as do Jackie Tyrrell and James Maher.

Paul Murphy returns to the Kilkenny full-back line in place of Tyrrell while Conor Martin is given his chance to impress up front.

With regular goalkeeper Eoin Murphy out injured, Richie Reid continues in goal for Kilkenny.

Chris Bolger from county champions Clara is a new addition to the list of substitutes. 

Throw-in tomorrow evening is at 7pm and we’ll be following the action LIVE here on The42. 


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Killian Burke (Midleton)
3. Damian Cahalane (St Finbarrs)
4. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers) Captain

5. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)
6. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
7. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)

8. Paul Haughney (Midleton)
9. John Cronin (Lisgoold)

10. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
11. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
12. Conor Lehane (Midleton)

13. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
14. Seamus Harnedy (St Itas)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

16. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
17. Stephen Murphy (Blackrock)
18. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfield)
19. William Egan (Kilbrin)
20. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
21. Niall Cashman (Blackrock)
22. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfield)
23. Cathal Cormack (Blackrock)
24. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
25. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)
26. William Leahy (Aghada)


1. Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
3. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
4. Shane Prendergast (Clara) captain

5. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
6. Kieran Joyce (Rower-Inistioge)
7. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)

8. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own)
9. Diarmuid Cody (James Stephens)

10. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. Conor Martin (Emeralds)

13. Walter Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon)
14. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)
15. Kevin Kelly (St Patricks)


16. Alan Murphy (Glenmore)
17. Jackie Tyrrell (James Stephens)
19. Brian Kennedy (St Lachtains)
20. Conor O’Shea (Clara)
21. Lester Ryan (Clara)
22. James Maher (St Lachtains)
23. Jonjo Farrell (Thomastown)
24. John Power (Carrickshock)
25. Michael Malone (Mullinavat)
26. Chris Bolger (Clara)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

The Roscommon side that will head to Donegal chasing a fourth successive win

Here’s the Monaghan football team to face Cork on Sunday

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.