Dublin: 2°C Sunday 5 December 2021

David Clifford rips Cork minors to shreds with 2-8 as Kerry remain on course for 5th straight Munster title

It was a brilliant team performance from Peter Keane’s side.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Kerry 2-17

Cork 1-10

Denis Hurley reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

A TOUR DE force from David Clifford kept Kerry on course for a fifth Electric Ireland Munster MFC title in a row as they overran Cork at Páirc Uí Rinn on Wednesday evening.

The full-forward was in irrepressible form, scoring a personal tally of 2-8, and overall this was a brilliant team performance from Peter Keane’s side, with Kerry in the provincial decider for the sixth consecutive year.

Cork had a dream start as Mark Keane won the ball from the throw-in and fed Evan Murphy, who fired to the net, but the rest of the half, and the game, belonged to Kerry.

They were level within six minutes, Clifford with two points before he showed great strength from Donnchadh O’Sullivan’s pass before firing to the net.

Points from Adam Donoghue, Fiachra Clifford and Dónal O’Sullivan put them well in control and though Cork reduced the deficit with points from Damien Gore, a second David Clifford goal on 26 minutes, followed good work from his namesake Fiachra, opened up a 2-9 to 1-5 lead at half-time.

They continued to dominate after the restart, but with 19 minutes left Cork had a chance of getting back into it as Keane – along with Lorcan Finn, the brightest performer in red – was fouled for a penalty.

Noel O'Leary Cork selector Noel O'Leary Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Unfortunately for them, Kerry goalkeeper Deividas Uosis made a great save, and would later deny Keane a goal. At the other end, Clifford continued to dictate matters and the Kingdom moved on with little fuss.

Scorers for Kerry: David Clifford 2-8 (0-2 frees, 0-1 sideline), Donnchadh O’Sullivan, Dónal O’Sullivan (0-1 free) 0-2 each, Adam Donoghue, Brian Friel, Fiachra Clifford, Cian Gammell, Jack Griffin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Evan Murphy 1-2 (0-1 45), Damien Gore 0-4 (0-2 frees), Cillian Myers Murray 0-3, Mark Keane 0-1.


1. Deividas Uosis (Dingle)

2. Ryan O’Neill (Na Gaeil)
3. Chris O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
5. Michael Potts (Dr Crokes)

4. Cian Gammell (Legion)
6. Eddie Horan (Scartaglen)
7. Niall Donohue (Firies)

8. Barry Mahony (St Senan’s)
9. Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil)

10. Adam Donoghue (Castleisland Desmonds)
15. Brian Friel (Rathmore)
13. Fiachra Clifford (Laune Rangers)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

14. Donnchadh O’Sullivan (Firies)
11. David Clifford (Fossa)
12. Donal O’Sullivan (Kilgarvan)


21. Jack Griffin (Dr Crokes) for Friel (38)
19. Michael Slattery (Austin Stacks) for Donnchadh O’Sullivan (47)
17. Ciarán O’Reilly (Austin Stacks) for Fiachra Clifford (49)
20. Patrick Warren (Gneeveguilla) for Dónal O’Sullivan (56)
18. Seán O’Leary (Kilcummin) for O’Neill (60)
22. Michael O’Leary (Renard) for Gammell (60)


1. Kevin McMahon (Kilshannig)

4. Dylan Ward (Douglas)
3. William Ronan (Kilmurry)
2. Lorcan Finn (Mitchelstown)

5. Jason Harrington (Adrigole)
6. Peter O’Driscoll (Ilen Rovers)
7. Jack McCarthy (Carrigaline)

8. Mark Keane (Mitchelstown)
9. Ryan Walsh (Kanturk)

12. Jack Murphy (Éire Óg)
10. Evan Murphy (Dromtarriffe)
11. Colm O’Callaghan (Éire Óg)

13. Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
14. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)
15. Cathal O’Mahony (Mitchelstown)


22. Cillian Myers Murray (St Finbarr’s) for Cathal O’Mahony (23, injured)
21. Colm Barrett (St Finbarr’s) for Jack Murphy (half-time)
17. Daniel O’Mahony (Knocknagree) for Ronan (40)
20. Shane Hickey (Millstreet) for Walsh (43)
19. Seán Meehan (Kiskeam) for McCarthy (43)
18. Rory O’Driscoll (Garnish) for Harrington (46, black card).

Referee: Alan Kissane (Waterford)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Blow for Wexford hurler who suffered possible fractured sternum in club game over the weekend

‘It was only a small thing, hopefully she got a bit of a buzz out of it’

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next: