James Crombie/INPHO Exciting Dr. Crokes star Jordan Kiely is on the Kerry bench for Wednesday's Munster junior football final.
# Derby Days
2 changes each for Cork and Kerry ahead of Munster junior football final
There are four All-Ireland minor medallists in the Kerry ranks.

OLD RIVALS CORK and Kerry have each made two changes to their starting line-ups for Wednesday evening’s Munster junior football final at Páirc Uí Rinn.

Darren Murphy and Seamus Hickey have been handed starts in the Cork team at full-back and full-forward respectively.

In the reshuffle, both Colm Hyde and Paul Condon drop to the subs bench from the team that defeated Limerick in the semi-final.

The Kerry line-up also shows two changes, and a number of positional switches, from the selection that beat Tipperary in the semi-final.

Conor Cox with Darragh Kearney Donall Farmer / INPHO Conor Cox will lead the Kerry attack from full-forward. Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

David Culhane replaces Greg Gibson and Brian Crowley is in for Denis Daly. Both Gibson and Daly are ruled out through injury.

Cork have won five of the last ten All-Ireland junior titles and Kerry are beaten finalists from 2014.

Kerry beat Cork by 3-14 to 0-13 in last year’s provincial final and their panel is boosted by the inclusion of six of the team defeated by Cavan in the All-Ireland decider.

Twin brothers Gavin and Brian Crowley were members of the Under 21 team this year while Spa club-mates, Dan O’Donoghue and Liam Kearney, are All-Ireland minor winners from last year. 

Kearney captained Kerry to last year’s All-Ireland minor title and two other winners, Brian Sugrue and Jordan Kiely, are listed among the subs for Wednesday.

Throw in at Páirc Uí Rinn is at 7.30pm.


1. Anthony Seymour (Castlehaven)

2. A. J. O’Connor (Kiskeam)
3. Darren Murphy (Ballincollig)
4. John MacLoughlin (Kanturk)

5. Sean Kiely (Macroom) Capt.
6. Jason Collins (St. Mary’s)
7. Bart Daly (Newmarket)

8. Micheál Ó Laoire (Naomh Abán)
9. Cillian Brosnan (Brian Dillons)

10. John Corkery (Aghabullogue)
11. Brian Coughlan (Kinsale)
12. Mark Sugrue (Bandon)

13. Anthony O’Connor (Knocknagree)
14. Seamus Hickey (Rockchapel)
15. Alan Barry (Glanmire)


16. Anthony Casey (Kiskeam)
17. Colm Hyde (Naomh Abán)
18. T. J. Brosnan (Newmarket)
19. Fionn Herlihy (Mitchelstown)
20. John Ryan (Newmarket)
21. Peter Daly (St. Mary’s)
22. Paul Condon (Mayfield)
23. Gearoid Finn (Kinsale)
24. Ruairi O’Hagan (Fermoy)


1. Shane Murphy (Kilcummin)

2. Dan O’Donoghue (Spa)
3. Jack McGuire (Listowel Emmetts)
4. David Culhane (Ballylongford)

5. James Walsh (Knocknagoshel)
6. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)
7. Gavin Crowley (Templenoe)

8. Brendan O’Sullivan (Valentia)
9. Liam Kearney (Spa)

10. Brian Crowley (Templenoe)
11. Jeff O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
12. Philip O’Connor (Cordal)

13. Alan O’Donoghue (C) (John Mitchels)
14. Conor Cox (Listowel Emmetts)
15. Thomas Hickey (Castleisland Desmonds)


16. Darragh O’Shea (Ballydonoghue)
17. Eamon Kiely (Brosna)
18. Brian Sugrue (Renard)
19. Greg Gibson (Waterville)
20. Michael Brennan (Churchill)
21. Gary O’Sullivan (Listry)
22. Adam Barry (Brosna)
23. David Griffin (Ardfert)
24. Jordan Kiely (Dr Crokes)

5 talking points as Dublin rout Kildare to close in on Leinster glory again

5 talking points from Westmeath’s incredible victory over Meath

Your Voice
Readers Comments