Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Wednesday 12 May 2021

Cork forced into late change for Munster MFC final after defender suffers serious injury

The sides face off at 12pm next Sunday in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Source: Cathal Noonan

CORK HAVE BEEN forced into a late change before Sunday’s Electric Ireland Munster minor football final against Kerry in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Wing-back Daniel Meaney sustained a serious leg injury in training which sees him forced to drop out with John Mullins coming in to replace him.

Manager Donal O’Sullivan has previously been forced into alterations with the teams he announced earlier this week Brian Coakley and Maidhc O Duinnín both unavailable due to injury.

Micheál O Deasúna has come into the team at midfield while his Cill Na Martra clubmate Daniel O Duinnín getting the nod to start at centre-forward.

The final change to the team sees Gary Murphy start at corner-forward in place of Damien Buckley.

Wing-forward Sean O’Donoghue and corner-forward Shane Kingston both lined out for the Cork minor hurlers last Thursday when they lost the Munster semi-final against Limerick.

(1) Colm O’Driscoll (Castlehaven)
(2) Tom Bushe (Ilen Rovers)
(3) Kevin Flahive (Douglas – Captain)
(4) Sean Powter (Douglas)
(5) John Mullins (Eire Og)
(6) Cian O’Donovan (Clonakilty)
(7) Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
(8) Sean O’Leary (Bantry Blues)
(9) Micheál O Deasúna (Cill Na Martra)
(10) Seamus Ronayne (Clyda Rovers)
(11) Daniel O Duinnín (Cill Na Martra)
(12) Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
(13) Shane Kingston (Douglas)
(14) Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)
(15) Gary Murphy (Castletownbere)

(16) Anthony Kidney (Passage West)
(17) Alex Hassett (Ilen Rovers)
(18) David O’Neill (Mayfield)
(19) Michael Lordan (Ballinora)
(20) Damien Buckley (Ballyclough)
(21) Evan Ryle (Carrigaline)
(22) Eoin O’Sullivan (Douglas)
(23) Michael Cottrell (Newmarket)
(24) Martin Collins (Kilmacabea)

Meanwhile, Kerry have made three changes for the game with Cormac Coffey & Liam Kearney in for Andrew Barry & Jack Morgan.

1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)
2. Brian Sugrue (Renard)
3. Brian Begley (An Ghaeltacht)
4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)
5. Mark O’Connor (Dingle)
6. Dan Donoghue (Spa)
7. Cormac Coffey (Kerins O’Rahillys)
8. Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle)
9. Liam Kearney (Spa)
10. Matthew Flaherty (Dingle)
11. Brian Rayle (Lispole)
12. Micheál Burns (Dr. Crokes)
13. Jordan Kiely (Dr. Crokes)
14. Killian Spillane (Templenoe)
15. Tomás Ó’Sé (An Ghaeltacht)

Updated at 15.40pm

Reigning champions Limerick defeat Cork to reach Munster minor hurling final

3 changes for Cork junior football team before Munster final as Kerry are unchanged

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: