Denise Gaule, Orla Cotter and Kate Kelly are the senior players nominated.
leading lights

Cork, Kilkenny and Wexford stars to battle it out for senior camogie player of the year award

Orla Cotter, Denise Gaule and Kate Kelly are the players in contention.

PLAYERS FROM KILKENNY, Cork and Wexford are in the running for the main individual senior camogie award after the 2016 championship.

The award, a joint venture by the Camogie Association and the WGPA, will be contested by Cork’s Orla Cotter, Kilkenny’s Denise Gaule and Wexford’s Kate Kelly.

Gaule was central to Kilkenny’s All-Ireland and league successes. She scored 0-7 in their final win over Cork while also winning Player of the Match in the semi-final victory over Galway.

Cotter helped Cork reach another decider and hit 1-2 as their three-in-a-row bid was foiled at the final hurdle, while Kelly lined out for semi-finalists Wexford and scored 0-8 in their last four loss to Cork.

The intermediate award will be a Kilkenny and Cork contest with Jenny Clifford and Ciara Holden in contention from the champions Kilkenny while Linda Collins is the Cork representative.

Clifford (1-0) and Holden (0-5) made important scoring contributions in Kilkenny’s intermediate final win while Collins was Cork’s leading performer with a brilliant return of 1-5 from play.

Jenny Clifford celebrates scoring Jenny Clifford hit the net for Kilkenny in their intermediate decider Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

Linda Collins with Jennifer Norris Linda Collins was Cork's star player in the All-Ireland intermediate final Tommy Dickson / INPHO Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

Finally the junior award has seen Carlow duo Eleanor Treacy and Ciara Quirke nominated along with Armagh’s Ciara Donnelly.

Treacy fired 0-6 in Carlow’s final success while Quirke was the hat-trick hero with a return of 3-2 from play. Despite suffering defeat, Donnelly impressed by weighing in with 1-6.

Carlow player Ciara Quirke Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

With the shortlists now released, the awards will now be voted on by the inter-county players with the winners announced at the Liberty Insurance Camogie All-Stars awards on 5 November.

Senior Player of the Year

  1. Orla Cotter (Cork)
  2. Denise Gaule (Kilkenny)
  3. Kate Kelly (Wexford)

Intermediate Player of the Year

  1. Linda Collins (Cork)
  2. Jenny Clifford (Kilkenny)
  3. Ciara Holden (Kilkenny)

Junior Player of the Year

  1. Ciara Donnelly (Armagh)
  2. Eleanor Treacy (Carlow)
  3. Ciara Quirke (Carlow)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

They’ve won the last 4 Kilkenny titles and are now set for semi-final battle next Sunday

All-Ireland U21 winning duo set to be appointed as Clare senior managers tonight