Dublin: 12°C Thursday 28 October 2021

Two ex-senior defenders in Cork team for Munster junior semi-final against Limerick

The sides clash in next Sunday’s curtain-raiser in Páirc Uí Rinn.

Sean Kiely Sean Kiely in action for the Cork senior side in the league against Dublin in 2012. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

TWO EX-CORK senior defenders have been named in the county’s junior side who face Limerick in a Munster semi-final clash next Sunday.

Corner-back John McLoughlin and wing-back Sean Kiely both have recent senior league experience with the Rebels. Kiely will captain the side.

McLoughlin is one of three members of the Cork U21 side that won the All-Ireland title back in 2009, who will start on Sunday.

Goalkeeper Anthony Seymour and wing-back Bart Daly were also part of that victorious side.

Midfielder Micheál Ó Laoire and the half-forward line of John Corkery, Brian Coughlan and Mark Sugrue are all recent Munster U21 football medal winners with the county as well.

Mark Lynch with John McLoughlin John McLoughlin in action against Derry's Mark Lynch in last year's league. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO


1. Anthony Seymour (Castlehaven)

2. A. J. O’Connor (Kiskeam)
3. Colm Hyde (Naomh Abán)
4. John McLoughlin (Kanturk)

5. Sean Kiely (Macroom) Capt.
6. Jason Collins (St. Mary’s)
7. Bart Daly (Newmarket)

8. Micheál Ó Laoire (Naomh Abán)
9. Cillian Brosnan (Brian Dillons)

10. John Corkery (Aghabullogue)
11. Brian Coughlan (Kinsale)
12. Mark Sugrue (Bandon)

13. Anthony O’Connor (Knocknagree)
14. Paul Condon (Mayfield)
15. Alan Barry (Glanmire)

16. Anthony Casey (Kiskeam)
17. Darren Murphy (Ballincollig)
18. T. J. Brosnan (Newmarket)
19. Fionn Herlihy (Mitchelstown)
20. John Ryan (Newmarket)
21. Peter Daly (St. Mary’s)
22. Seamus Hickey (Rockchapel)
23. Gearoid Finn (Kinsale)
24. Ruairi O’Hagan (Fermoy)

O’Connor returns and Cronin handed debut as Cork make 6 changes for Clare clash

Tipperary captain lands All-Ireland U21 football award after 2015 exploits

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: