This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 5 June, 2020

Four league debuts in Cork side to open campaign in Fermanagh

Ronan McCarthy’s Rebels begin in Brewster Park this Sunday.

Eoghan McSweeney breaks clear during the McGrath Cup semi-final against Limerick.
Eoghan McSweeney breaks clear during the McGrath Cup semi-final against Limerick.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

CORK BOSS RONAN McCarthy has named four competition debutants in his starting line-up for the opening round National Football League meeting with Fermanagh in Brewster Park (throw-in 2pm, Sunday).

Corner backs Kevin O’Donovan and Conor Dennehy earn their first senior start for the Rebels.

In the forward line, the new faces are in the 11 shirt with Knocknagree’s Eoghan McSweeney and corner forward Damien Gore of Kilmacabea.

Cork will name their subs for the trip to the Lakeland county on Thursday evening. 

Cork team v Fermanagh (NFL Div 2)

1. Mark White (Clonakilty)

2. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
3. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
4. Conor Dennehy (St Finbarrs)

5. James Loughrey (Mallow)
6. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
7. Mattie Taylor (Mallow)

8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs)
9. Ronan O’Toole (Eire Og)

10. Tom Clancy (Fermoy)
11. Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree)
12. Ruairi Deane (Bantry)

13. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)
14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
15. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here:

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel