Cork unchanged* for Clash of the Capitals against Dublin

*Is this actually your team for Saturday, Mr Counihan?

Aidan Walsh got the crucial goal in last Saturday's win over Galway.
Aidan Walsh got the crucial goal in last Saturday's win over Galway.
Image: ©INPHO/Donall Farmer

CORK HAVE NAMED an unchanged side for Saturday’s All-Ireland football quarter-final against Dublin.

The Rebels return to Croke Park for the second time in eight days but despite the quick turnaround, manager Conor Counihan is set to go with the same 15 which started against Galway.

Counihan has been criticised this season for naming “dummy teams” in the run-up to games and then making changes shortly before throw-in.

He caused a stir last week when he left Ken O’Halloran, Noel O’Leary, Paudie Kissane, Fintan Goold, Paul Kerrigan and Donncha O’Connor on the bench against Galway, and then surprised people again when Cork started the game as named in the programme.

Aidan Walsh, scorer of the crucial goal in that one-point win, remains at centre-forward while Daniel Goulding, Ciarán Sheehan and Brian Hurley — who combined for nine points last week — make up the full-forward line again.

Cork (SFC v Dublin): Alan Quirke (Valley Rovers); Eoin Cadogan (Douglas), Michael Shields (St Finbarr’s), Thomas Clancy (Clonakilty); Damien Cahalane (Castlehaven), Graham Canty (Bantry Blues), James Loughrey (Mallow); Alan O’Connor (St Colum’s), Pearse O’Neill (Aghada); Mark Collins (Castlehaven), Aidan Walsh (Kanturk), John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers); Daniel Goulding (Eire Óg), Ciarán Sheehan (Eire Óg), Brian Hurley (Castlehaven).
Subs: Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown), John Mc Loughlin (Kanturk), Tomás Clancy (Fermoy), Noel O’Leary (Cill na Martra), Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), Paudie Kissane (Clyda Rovers), Andrew O’Sullivan (Castletownbere), Fintan Goold (Macroom), Patrick Kelly (Ballincollig), Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), Donncha O’Connor (Ballydesmond).

Lacey back in Donegal starting team to face Mayo next Sunday

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: