Wednesday 1 February 2023 Dublin: 7°C
Cathal Noonan/INPHO Jennifer O'Leary and Siona Nolan fight for possession.
# Close encounter
Wexford and Cork set for replay after nail-biting semi-final
Katriona Mackey’s first half goal looked to have booked Cork a final berth.

Cork 1-9

Wexford 1-9

IT TOOK SOME time to get going but Cork and Wexford eventually delivered a nail-biting Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship semi-final in Thurles this afternoon with the Slaneysiders fighting back to earn a draw.

In a low-scoring opening period, Ursula Jacob pointed the game’s first score for Wexford after five minutes and the score-board would remain that way until mid-way through the half when Katriona Mackey finished off a move involving Angela Walsh and Julia White to raise the first green flag of the game.

With scoring at a premium, points from Orla Cotter (2) and Briege Corkery for Cork and Jackie Quigley and Jacob for Wexford, sent the Munster side into the break with a 1-3 to 0-3 lead.

Jacob reduced her side’s deficit to two with the first score of the second half only for Jenny O’Leary to restore Cork’s single-goal advantage.

Wexford though, wouldn’t lie down and Quigley and Una Leacy scored back-to-back points to cut the lead to a solitary point. Cork were to rally again and points from Angela Walsh and Mackey (2) bookended Fiona Rochford’s score to make it 1-7 to 0-7 with five minutes remaining.

Though 2012 champions Wexford kept coming, Cork’s lead was still three entering stoppage time before Una Leacy took advantage of great work from Katrina Parrock to make it 1-9 apiece in the 61st minute.

O’Learly had the opportunity to win it for Cork right at the end but her long distance free sailed just wide and the two sides will have to do it all again next Saturday.

Scorers for Cork: O Cotter 0-4(3fs); K Mackey 1-1; J O’Leary 0-2; J White, B Corkery 0-1 each.
Scorers for Wexford: U Jacob 0-5(4fs); U Leacy 1-1; K Kelly, J Quigley, F Rochford 0-1 each.

CORK: A Murray, J O’Callaghan, E O’Sullivan, A Geary, L Treacy, G O’Connor, P Mackey, R Buckley, A Thompson, J O’Leary, A Walsh, B Corkery, J White, O Cotter, K Mackey.

WEXFORD: M D’Arcy, D Codd, N Lambert, K Atkinson, S Nolan, M Leacy, S Sinnott, J Dwyer, S Kehoe, K Kelly, F Kavanagh, J Quigley, U Jacob, K Parrock, L Bolger.

Subs: U Leacy for Bolger (ht), B Gordon for Kavanagh (49), F Rochford for Kehoe (52)

Referee: A Lagrue (Kildare).

Battle of heavyweights as Cork and Wexford meet in last-four showdown

‘If we can perform at our best, the rest will look after itself’

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel