Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Tuesday 27 October 2020

Bowe and Ronaldson back in starting slots as Connacht welcome unbeaten Ulster

Pat Lam’s side are hoping to build on last week’s win over Edinburgh.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

CONNACHT CENTRE CRAIG Ronaldson will make his first Guinness Pro12 appearance since March in tomorrow’s inter-provincial meeting with Ulster at the Sportsground (19.35, TG4).

The playmaker has missed the opening weeks of this season with a thigh injury after an ankle problem curtailed his involvement in Connacht’s run to the title.

Ronaldson replaces Peter Robb as Bundee Aki’s midfield partner. Injury to Matt Healy means a recall for Cian Kelleher on the left wing with Caolin Blade filling in for Kieran Marmion, who limped out of last weekend’s win with an ankle injury.

There are three changes in the tight five with Finlay Bealham, Dave Heffernan and Andrew Browne joining the pack in place of Denis Buckley, Tom McCartney and Quinn Roux. Short-term signing Stacey Ili takes a place among the replacements.

With Charles Piutau injured, Tommy Bowe makes his first start in six months in a reshuffled Ulster backline. The in-form Louis Ludik starts in the centre while Ireland centre Jared Payne will play fullback.

Up front, Iain Henderson will wear the number six jersey, while Robbie Diack is named in the second row.


15. Tiernan O’Halloran
14. Niyi Adeolokun
13. Bundee Aki
12. Craig Ronaldson
11. Cian Kelleher
10 Jack Carty
9. Caolin Blade

1. Finlay Bealham
2. Dave Heffernan
3. Conor Carey
4. Ultan Dillane
5. Andrew Browne
6. Eoin McKeon
7. Jake Heenan
8. John Muldoon (Capt.)


16. Shane Delahunt
17. Ronan Loughney
18. JP Cooney
19. Lewis Stevenson
20. James Connolly
21. Stephen Kerins
22. Shane O’Leary
23. Stacey Ili


15. Jared Payne (Capt)
14. Tommy Bowe
13. Louis Ludik
12. Darren Cave
11. Craig Gilroy
10. Paddy Jackson
9. Paul Marshall

1. Callum Black
2. Rory Best
3. Rodney Ah You
4. Robbie Diack
5. Pete Browne
6. Iain Henderson
7. Clive Ross
8. Roger Wilson


16. Rob Herring
17. Andy Warwick
18. Ross Kane
19. Kieran Treadwell
20. Sean Reidy
21. Dave Shanahan
22. Brett Herron
23. Rob Lyttle

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Waisake Naholo back in black as New Zealand take aim at ‘Boks

Munster close in on South African prop Kebble for next season

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel