Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13°C Friday 23 April 2021

Our Lady's Templemore come from behind to win first All-Ireland since 1978

Brian McGrath hit 1-8 to deny St Kieran’s an historic four-in-a-row.

Our Lady's Brian McGrath.
Our Lady's Brian McGrath.
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Our Lady’s Secondary School (Templemore) 3-13

St Kieran’s College (Kilkenny) 3-11

Masita Croke Cup Final (Senior A Hurling)

By Conor Kane in Thurles

HOPES OF AN historic Croke Cup four-in-a-row for schools hurling behemoth St Kieran’s were blown apart at Semple Stadium by some fine goal-taking and unerring Brian McGrath accuracy as Our Lady’s of Templemore took the crown.
Behind by four points early in the second half after an unanswered 1-2 from St Kieran’s following the interval, the Templemore school roused themselves again and again to answer the Kilkenny lads’ every move and end up with their second All-Ireland senior title.

Ciaran Brennan was always a handful for Kieran’s, scoring one goal just before the break and setting another up for Adrian Mullen just after, while Mullen added a second for himself in the 42nd minute after the luckless Eoin Colllins saved from Diarmuid Phelan.

David O'Shea and Martin Keoghan Our Lady's David O'Shea and St Kieran's Martin Keoghan. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

But Our Lady’s had stars aplenty of their own, with county minor star Brian McGrath notching 1-8, Ray McCormack and Lyndon Fairbrother also scoring goals and others contributing around the field.

Our Lady’s led by 1-7 to 1-6 at half-time and despite St Kieran’s scoring burst shortly afterwards and all of their best efforts, they couldn’t shake off the Templemore challengers.

After McCormack’s brilliant goal tied the scores at 3-9 each, Fairbrother raising the other green flag, four points in a row sent the Co Tipperary school glory bound.

Adrian Mullen and Paddy Cadell St Kieran's Adrian Mullen and Our Lady's Paddy Cadell. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Scorers for Our Lady’s: Brian McGrath 1-8 (4F, 2 ’65′), Lyndon Fairbrother 1-1, Ray McCormack 1-0, Diarmuid Ryan 0-1, Jerry Kelly 0-1, David O’Shea 0-1, Aidan O’Meara 0-1.

Scorers for St Kieran’s: Adrian Mullen 2-2 (F, ’65’), Ciaran Brennan 1-1, Eoin O’Shea 0-3, Daithí Barron 0-2, Evan Shefflin 0-1, Ted Drea 0-1, Diarmuid Phelan 0-1.

Our Lady’s:

1. Eoin Collins (Drom and Inch)

2. Neil Quinlan (JK Brackens)
3. Padraig Campion (Drom and Inch)
4. Eoghan Ryan (Loughmore-Castleiney)

6. Paddy Cadell (c, JK Brackens)
7. Aidan O’Meara (Drom and Inch)
5. Éanna McBride (JK Brackens)

8. Diarmuid Ryan (Clonakenny)
9. Stephen Nolan (Drom and Inch)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

10. Ray McCormack (Borrisoleigh)
11. Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
12. Jerry Kelly (Borrisoleigh)

13. Andrew Ormond (JK Brackens)
14. David O’Shea (JK Brackens)
15. Lyndon Fairbrother (JK Brackens).

17. Jack Ryan (Toomevara) for S Nolan (49m)
19. Shane Doyle (JK Brackens) for D O’Shea (55m)
20. Fintan Purcell (Drom and Inch) for A Ormond (61m).

St Kieran’s:

1. Dean Mason (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

4. Luke Murphy (James Stephens)
3.Michael Carey (Young Irelands)
2. Tommy Ronan (Graigue-Ballycallan)

5. Ben Lawlor (James Stephens)
6. Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan)
7. Killian Egan (Graigue-Ballycallan)

8. Ted Drea (Young Irelands)
12. Eoin O’Shea (O’Loughlin Gaels)

11. Eoghan Moylan (Dicksboro)
9. Diarmuid Phelan (Danesfort)
15. Adrian Mullen (c. Ballyhale Shamrocks)

13. Daithí Barron (Thomastown)
14. Ciaran Brennan (Bennettsbridge)
10. Evan Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

19. Sean Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan) for E Shefflin (41m)
22. Padraic Mullen (Danesfort) for E Moylan (55m)
24. Ross Whelan (James Stephens) for B Lawlor (55m)

Referee: Colm Lyons (Cork).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘There were regrets, but looking back on the great days is a big comfort’

Ulster keep Pro12 playoff chase on track with late win against Dragons

About the author:

Conor Kane

Read next: