This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 20 °C Saturday 15 August, 2020

Hery's early strike sends Waterford into first FAI Cup quarter-final since 2009

It wasn’t to be for Drogheda United, who shocked Shamrock Rovers in the previous round.

Waterford players celebrate after Bastien Hery's goal.
Waterford players celebrate after Bastien Hery's goal.
Image: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Drogheda United 0
Waterford 1

WATERFORD BOOKED THEIR place in the quarter-finals of the FAI Cup this evening by seeing off the challenge of First Division outfit Drogheda United at United Park.

Bastien Hery scored the only goal of the game with just over three minutes on the clock to eliminate the Drogs, who pulled off a major upset in the first round by dumping out Shamrock Rovers.

The French midfielder’s long-range effort early in the game beat Paul Skinner in the Drogheda goal, and it was enough to send the Blues into the last eight of the competition for the first time since 2009.

The home side battled bravely to find a way back into the game and their best chance fell to Mark Doyle in the second half, but he was unable to keep his shot on target.

DROGHEDA UNITED: Paul Skinner; Kevin Farragher, Luke Gallagher, Ciaran Kelly, Mark Doyle; Sean Brennan (Robert Manley, 75), Jake Hyland, Richie Purdy; Conor Kane, William Hondermarck (Colm Deasy, 46), Chris Lyons.

WATERFORD: Niall Corbet; Rory Feely, Dave Webster, Kenny Browne, Garry Comerford; Paul Keegan; Bastien Hery, Dessie Hutchinson; Gavan Holohan (Dylan Barnett, 86); Izzy Akinade, Noel Hunt (Dean O’Halloran, 85).

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Referee: Robert Harvey (Dublin).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel