This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 17 August, 2019

Heneghan leads Mayo's Ballinrobe to thrilling All-Ireland victory in 80-minute classic

St Ciaran’s, Ballygawley were on the losing side in an entertaining encounter.

Ballinrobe CS, (Mayo) 2-19

St Ciaran’s, Ballygawley (Tyrone) 2-16

(After extra-time)

Kevin O’Brien reports from Croke Park

IT TOOK OVER 80 minutes, but eventually Mayo’s Ballinrobe Community School lifted the Paddy Drummond Cup after an enthralling affair in Croke Park.

Darragh McGovern and Cormaic Donnelly Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

With players dropping like flies from cramp all over the field, Ballinrobe had just enough in the tank to secure the victory. Star forward Conor Heneghan pointed the way with 1-5, while his partner in crime Cathal Slattery posted six points.

Both sides gave a good account of themselves, with an impressive array of score-taking lighting up this clash.

Ballinrobe led by 1-10 to 1-7 in the 50th minute, but the Tyrone school rallied late on with Pascal Donaghy and Tomas Hoy influential as they forced extra-time.

Ballinrobe bagged an unanswered 1-4 during the first-half of extra-time, with Darragh McGovern finding the net, and appeared to be on the path to victory.

St Ciaran’s hit the net in the 68th minute through Ciaran Traynor to leave the game in the balance once again, before a couple of Slattery frees saw the Connacht champions home.

Ballinrobe showed no signs of nerves in the early stages and a well-taken early goal from Conor Heneghan handed them an ideal start. Thomas Conroy kicked two points in quick succession to leave the Mayo side five points up after 12 minutes.

St Ciaran’s eventually settled and started to pick holes in the Ballinrobe defence.

The Ulster champions displayed some fine long-range shooting with Daniel Millar and Pascal Donaghy firing over a brace apiece as St Ciaran’s scored six of the last seven scores to take an 0-7 to 1-3 lead at the break.

Darragh McGovern and Cormaic Donnelly Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

St Ciaran’s capitalised on some poor defending shortly after the restart as Cormaic Donnelly found the net, but from that point the Connacht champions took control.

They hit five straight scores, with inside forwards Cathal Slattery and Heneghan sending over a brace apiece. St Ciaran’s responded with four unanswered points to retake the lead, but Heneghan’s 40m free forced extra-time.

Thomas Conroy and Cathal Corrigan Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Extra-time was as exciting as it was tense, as McGovern and Traynor traded goals for either side.

Slattery and Conroy hit three crucial scores between them down the home straight for the winners to seal the victory.

Scorers for Ballinrobe CS: Conor Heneghan 1-5 (0-3f), Cathal Slattery 0-6 (0-4f), Thomas Conroy 0-4, Darragh McGovern 1-0, Oisin Mullin 0-1, Adam Barrett 0-1, Brian O’Halloran and Tom Quinn 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Ciaran’s: Cormaic Donnelly 1-4 (0-3 45), Pascal Donaghy 0-6, Ciaran Traynor 1-0, Daniel Millar 0-2, Tomas Hoy 0-2, Caoimhin O’Donnell, Callum Corrigan 0-1 each.

Ballinrobe CS

1. Cian Ferriter (Hollymount/Carramore)

2. Paddy Feerick (An Fhairce)
3. Oran O’Malley (Ballinrobe)
4. Peter Butler (Ballinrobe)

5. Oisin Mullin (Kilmaine)
7. Aaron McDonnell (Ballintubber)
6. Liam Hughes (Mayo Gaels)

11. Nathan Moran (Hollymount/Carramore)
9. Darragh McGovern (Ballintubber)

24. Darren Munroe (Kilmaine)
14. Conor Heneghan (Hollymount/Carramore)
12. Adam Barrett (Kilmaine)

13. Thomas Conroy (The Neale)
8. Evan O’Brien (Ballinrobe)
15. Cathal Slattery (Garrymore)

Subs: 10 Brian O’Halloran for Darren Munroe (43), 17. Tom Quinn for Adam Barrett (51), 20. Ross Philbin for Evan O’Brien (75), 23. Oisin Connolly for Aaron McDonnell (75), 22. Rory Jennings for Conor Heneghan (82).

St Ciaran’s

1. Paul Traynor (Errigal Ciaran)

2. Marc Lennon (Galbally)
3. Conor Quinn (Gallbally)
4. James Murray (Kileeshil)

5. Callum Corrigan (Beragh)
6. Cathair Quinn (Errigal Ciaran)
7.  Cathal Corrigan (Errigal Ciaran)

8. Joseph Oguz (Errigal Ciaran)
9. Daniel Millar (Kileeshil)

10. Pascal Donaghy (Kileeshil)
11. Cormaic Donnelly (Galbally)
12. Ciaran Traynor (Errigal Ciaran)

13. Tomas Hoy (Kileeshil)
14. Caomhin O’Donnell (Galbally)
15. Darragh Canavan (Errigal Ciaran)

Subs: 24. Pauraic McNelis for James Murray (41), 21. Jason Doyle for Daniel Millar (69), 22. Michael Owens for Tomas Hoy (71), 9. Daniel Millar for Pascal Donaghy (76).

Referee: Brendan Cawley (Sligo)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Tipp footballer injured in club game…two days before Division 3 promotion clash

All-Ireland club hurling winner goes up against familiar Leinster rugby faces today

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: