This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 26 April, 2019

Dublin make 3 changes from league final for Westmeath test

Jack McCaffrey and Paul Mannion are both set to make their championship debuts this weekend.

Ciaran Kilkenny is set to feature for Dublin.
Ciaran Kilkenny is set to feature for Dublin.

DUBLIN HAVE MADE three changes from the side that beat Tyrone in the league final in April for their opening Leinster SFC game in Croke Park this Saturday.

Rory O’Carroll replaces Kevin O’Brien in defence while Ciaran Kilkenny is back from injury to take over in attack from Bryan Cullen.

Also in attack Paul Flynn, who was a late withdrawal through injury before the Tyrone game, comes into the attack for Jason Whelan.

Meanwhile, the side also features four starting championship debutants in full-back Jonny Cooper, left corner-back Darren Daly, left half-back Jack McCaffrey and right corner-forward Paul Mannion.

Cooper, Daly and McCaffrey have all made appearances off the bench for Dublin in championship before.

DUBLIN: Stephen Cluxton (Parnells); Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes), Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna), Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens); James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams), Ger Brennan (St Vincent’s), Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf); Michael Dara Macauley (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes); Paul Flynn (Fingallians), Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent’s), Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock); Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes), Paddy Andrews (St Brigids), Bernard Brogan (Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruaidh).

3 debutants in Clare hurling side for Munster clash with Waterford>

Which of these 18 types of sports fan are you?>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next: