This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Sunday 16 December, 2018

Derry survive stern Dublin test to seal first All-Ireland minor final in 10 years

It was an excellent defensive effort by the Oak Leafers.

Derry 0-17

Dublin 0-14

Kevin O’Brien reports from Croke Park

AN OUTSTANDING defensive display saw Derry past Dublin to book their first All-Ireland MFC final since 2007.

David Lace with Oran McGill Source: Gary Carr/INPHO

The Oak Leafers stifled a highly-rated Dublin attack and their back six must be applauded for a heroic performance. Derry will face a Kerry side chasing their fourth All-Ireland in-a-row in the final, but they look well-equipped to make a decent fist of things against David Clifford and company in the final.

Derry haven’t won an All-Ireland at this grade since 2002, when they defeated Meath by 1-12 to 0-8 in the final.

Derry’s hard-running game caused Dublin problems at the far end. The Leinster champions were punished for consistent fouling within scoring range, as Derry kicked 0-10 frees between Patrick Quigg, Ben McCarron and man-of-the-match Lorcan McWilliams.

James Doran impressed for Dublin and kicked six excellent scores from play, but too many of his team-mates failed to hit the form that brought them this far. The Dubs left a handful of goal chances behind them and it cost them dearly.

Ross McGarry attempts a shot on goal Source: Gary Carr/INPHO

The last time Derry made it to a final at this grade, their team boasted future seniors Chrissy McKaigue, James Kielt and Carlus McWilliams. They’ve got another talented crop of players emerging on this evidence.

The first-half was a cagey affair with both teams relying on the excellent free-taking of David Lacey and Patrick Quigg.

Dublin led by 0-8 to 0-7 at the interval after blowing a couple of goal opportunities in the opening 30 minutes.

David Lace with Oran McGill Source: Gary Carr/INPHO

Lacey slotted over a 45 in the 40th minute to send Dublin two points in front it appeared they were ready to press for home. But Derry’s response was clinical and they reeled off five of the next six points to move into a commanding 0-15 to 0-13 lead.

Seven minutes of stoppage-time handed Dublin a lifeline but Derry held firm in the closing stages to deny them a sniff at goal.

Scorers for Derry: Lorcan McWilliams (0-4f) and Patrick Quigg (0-4f) 0-5 each, Ben McCarron 0-3 (0-2f), Oisin McWilliams, Richie Mullan, Mark McGrogan and Jon Paul Devlin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin: James Doran 0-6, David Lacey 0-5 (0-3f, 0-1 45), Ross McGarry 0-2 and Sean Hawkshaw 0-1.


1. Oran Hartin (Leim an Mhadaidh)

2. Oran McGill (An Gleann)
3. Conor McCluskey (Machair Fiolta)
4. Sean McKeever (Dun Geimhin)

5. Simon McErlan (Machaire Fiolta)
6. Padraig McGrogan (An Droichead Nua)
7. Conleth McShane (Baile Eachaidh)

8. Oisin McWilliams (An Suaitreach)
9. Dara Rafferty (Droim Sorn)

10. Patrick Quigg (Cill Ria)
11. Richie Mullan (Dun Geimhin)
12. Odhran Quinn (Baile Eachaidh)

13. Ben McCarron (Baile Stil)
14. Lorcan McWilliams (An Suatreach)
15. Mark McGrogan (An Drochead Nua)


22. Fergal Mortimer (An Chreig Bhan) for Rafferty (29)
18. Callum Brown (Leim an Mhadaidh) for Quinn (32)
19. Delan Cassidy (Baile Eachaidh) for Quigg  (35)
17. Martin Bradley (Baile na Scrine) for MCErlain (56)
20. Jon Paul Devlin (Baile na Scrine) for McCarron (59)
21. Tiernan McHugh (Droim Sorn) for McWilliams (62)


1. David O’Hanlon (Na Fianna)

2. Darren Maher (St Pat’s, Donabate)
3. Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne (Cuala)
4. Liam Flatman (Kilmacud Crokes)

5. Kieran Kennedy (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
6. Neil Matthews (Erin’s Isle)
7. Eoin O’Dea (Na Fianna)

8. Donal Ryan (Na Fianna)
9. Mark Tracey (Cuala)

10. Daniel Brennan (St Sylvester’s)
11. James Doran (Na Fianna)
12. Karl Lynch Bissett (Naomh Mearnóg)

13. Ross McGarry (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
14. Seán Hawkshaw (Naomh Mearnóg
15. David Lacey (Na Fianna)


19. Fionnan O’Sullivan (Skerries Harps) for Brennan (40)
23. Ciaran Archer (St Maurs) for Hawkshaw (46)
18. Gavin Nangle (Naomh Mernog) for O Cofaigh Byrne (52)
22. Adam Byrne (Naomh Olaf) for Lynch Bissett (59)
17. Luke Doran (Naomh Olaf) for Maher (62)
21. Niall O’Leary (Kilmacud Crokes) for Kennedy (66, black-card)

Referee: Sean Lonergan (Tipperary)

Darragh Canavan, son of Peter, bags this goal of the year contender as Tyrone lift All-Ireland U17 crown

Anthony Joshua to line out for Tyrone and rowing for Game of Thrones – it’s tweets of the week

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel