Diarmuid Connolly in action for Dublin against Donegal Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO
Winning Boys In Blue

Dublin survive Connolly and O'Gara sending-offs and Donegal test to claim quarter-final win

And now Kerry await on 28 August for Jim Gavin’s side.

Dublin 1-15
Donegal 1-10

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

THEY SAW TWO of their players sent-off in the second-half but Dublin still marched on as they survived a Donegal examination in this evening’s All-Ireland quarter-final at Croke Park.

The current Sam Maguire holders absorbed a series of setbacks in the second-half after having been in front 0-9 to 0-4 at the interval.

Ryan McHugh palmed to the net in the 44th minute to offer Donegal a lifeline after a free-flowing move cut apart the Dublin defence.

Then three minutes later Dublin lost star forward Diarmuid Connolly as he was shown a black card which necessitated a red card after his yellow card offence in the 8th minute of the game.

And the nerves of Dublin supporters were more frayed deep in injury-time when substitute Eoghan O’Gara saw red for an off-the-ball incident.

Yet as Donegal poured forward in search of the scores to salvage their season, Dublin stood tall and it was another substitute in Paul Mannion who finished off the game.

In the 76th minute the Kilmacud Crokes man scythed past the Donegal defence and when in the clear, he kept his composure to calmly roll the ball to the net.

Paul Mannion celebrates scoring Paul Mannion celebrates his goal for Dublin Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

Dublin were finally asssured of the spoils at that point but it had looked in the first-half like they would storm to victory. The teams were tied at 0-2 apiece in the 19th minute but Diarmuid Connolly could have had two goals in that time frame only to see one shot blocked by Mark Anthony McGinley and another whistle past the post.

However Dublin upped the ante before half-time with Dean Rock, Kevin McManamon, Connolly, Paddy Andrews and Ciaran Kilkenny all on target. Donegal struggled for scores and Anthony Thompson’s 33rd minute score was their first effort from play.

Dublin began the second-half brightly with scores from McManaman and Rock but then Patrick McBrearty flighted over a lovely point and McHugh struck that goal in the 44th minute.

Dublin lost Connolly then but critically they did not ship too many scores. Rock and Michael Murphy traded frees before McManamon and Jonny Cooper bagged crucial points in the 60th and 62nd minutes respectively.

Diarmuid Connolly is sent off by Referee Ciaran Branagan A red card for Diarmuid Connolly from referee Ciaran Branagan Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

Donegal never threw in the towel but Dublin saw the game out with Mannion’s scoring interventions helping to alleviate the dismissal of O’Gara.

Scorers for Dublin: Dean Rock 0-5 (0-4f, 0-1 ’45), Paul Mannion 1-1, Kevin McManamon 0-3, Diarmuid Connolly 0-2, Ciaran Kilkenny, Jonny Cooper, Philly McMahon, Paddy Andrews 0-1 each.

Scorers for Donegal: Michael Murphy 0-5 (0-4f, 0-§ ’45), Ryan McHugh 1-0, Patrick McBrearty 0-3 (0-2f), Anthony Thompson 0-1.


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells – captain)

2. Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
3. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
4. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)

12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
7. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Michael Darragh MacAuley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

10. Paul Flynn (Fingallians)
11. Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s)
17. Paddy Andrews (St Brigid’s)

13. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
14. Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent’s)
15. Bernard Brogan (St. Oliver Plunkett’s-Eoghan Ruadh)


21. Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens) for Brogan (48)
18. Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge Street) for MacAuley (53)
24. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes) for Andrews (56)
22. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala) for Cooper (blood) (68)
26. Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue Synge Street) for McManamon (68)
23. Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s) for Rock (73)


1. Mark Anthony McGinley (St Michael’s)

2. Paddy McGrath (Ardara)
3. Neil McGee (Gaoth Dobhair)
4. Eamonn McGee (Gaoth Dobhair)

6. Karl Lacey (St Eunan’s)
15. Martin O’Reilly (Sean Mac Cumhaill)
7. Frank McGlynn (Glenfin)

8. Rory Kavanagh (St Eunan’s)
11. Odhrán Mac Niallais (Gaoth Dobhair)

5. Ryan McHugh (Kilcar)
10. Anthony Thompson (Naomh Conaill)
12. Eoin McHugh (Kilcar)

13. Patrick McBrearty (Kilcar)
14. Michael Murphy (Glenswilly)
9. Martin McElhinney (St Michael’s)


17. Ciaran Gillespie (Gaoth Dobhair) for Mac Niallais (half-time)
18. Leo McLoone (Naomh Conaill) for Kavanagh (42)
19. Christy Toye (Naomh Conaill) for Thompson (49)
22. Mark McHugh (Kilcar) for Eamonn McGee (55)
24. Ciaran Thompson (Naomh Conaill) for McElhinney (61)
20. Colm McFadden (St Michael’s) for Lacey (71)

Referee: Ciaran Branagan (Down)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Keegan the hero as Mayo take out 14-man Tyrone to reach All-Ireland semi-final

Kerry are All-Ireland junior football champions again as they see off Mayo

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.