This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 16 °C Friday 14 August, 2020

Gavin makes 4 changes to Dubs side for Longford

Only Jack McCaffrey remains from the half-back line that faced Cork last month.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

JIM GAVIN HAS made four changes to his team for the Leinster Senior Football Championship opener against Longford on Sunday.

With James McCarthy missing out with a toe injury, Fingal Ravens’ Darren Daly starts at wing back alongside John Small installed at centre half in place off Cian O’Sullivan.

The remaining changes from the side that defeated Cork in the league final a month ago come at full back, where St Olaf’s David Byrne comes in for Rory O’Carroll, and at wing forward where Fingallians stalwart Paul Flynn edges out Tom Brady.

Dublin (Leinster SFC v Longford) 31 May 4pm

1 Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2 Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
3 David Byrne (St Olaf’s)
4 Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)

5 Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens)
6 John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7 Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)

8 Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9 Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge Street)

10. Paul Flynn (Fingallians)
11 Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)
12 Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincents)

13 Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
14 Kevin McManamon (St Judes)
15 Bernard Brogan (Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruaidh)

True Blue Jack Sheedy looking forward to Croker showdown with Dubs

Change in goal and midfield as Dublin hurlers take on Galway

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: