Monday 30 January 2023 Dublin: 8°C
Cathal Noonan/INPHO Dublin's Eoghan O'Gara in action against Kildare.
# Bouncing Back
Dublin back to winning ways as they prove too strong for Kildare at Croke Park
Kevin McManamon hit 0-8 for Dublin as they triumphed tonight.

Dublin 1-22
Kildare 1-12

DUBLIN BOUNCED BACK from last week’s defeat to Cork to record a victory over Kildare tonight in Division 1 of the football league in Croke Park.

Kevin McManamon was the star as he struck 0-8 to help Jim Gavin’s side see off the Lilywhites. Dublin lead 1-10 to 1-6 at the break with Paddy Andrews slamming home their first-half goal in the 21st minute as they dominated the early exchanges.

Kildare stayed in touch at the interval, thanks to a superb goal towards the end of the opening period by Darroch Mulhall. The Athy attacker was Kildare’s best player up front and chalked up 1-6 throughout the game.

Jason Ryan’s side competed strongly in the early stages of the second-half and were still only four points adrift, 1-12 to 1-8 after 42 minutes.

But that was as close as they would come as Dublin pulled clear at the finish to have ten points to spare. It was an impressive display by Dublin to close out the game on a night when they got their bid to reach the knockout stages of the league back on track.

They did suffer the setback of seeing attacker Ciaran Kilkenny limp off injured in the early moments of the game but Tomas Brady was welcomed back into action after a long layoff with cruciate damage.

Kildare’s relegation fears increase after suffering their third defeat of the campaign here. Next week’s tie at home to Kerry will be a pivotal one for Jason Ryan’s men.


Scorers for Dublin: Kevin McManamon 0-8 (0-4f), Paddy Andrews 1-2, Stephen Cluxton (0-1 ’45, 0-1f), Jonny Cooper, Eoghan O’Gara, Cian O’Sullivan 0-2 each, Bryan Cullen, Tomas Brady, Darragh Nelson, Davy Byrne 0-1 each.
Scorers for Kildare: Darroch Mulhall 1-6 (0-3f), Eoghan O’Flaherty 0-2 (0-1f), Paddy Brophy, Paul Cribbin, Mikey Conway, Padraig Fogarty 0-1 each.

DUBLIN: Stephen Cluxton; Michael Fitzsimons, Sean George, Philly McMahon; Jack McCaffrey, Jonny Cooper, James McCarthy; Cian O’Sullivan, Michael Darragh Macauley; Ciaran Kilkenny, Ciaran Reddin, Bryan Cullen; Kevin McManamon, Eoghan O’Gara, Paddy Andrews.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Subs: Davy Byrne for Kilkenny (4), Alan Brogan for Reddin (ht), Darragh Nelson for Fitzsimons (ht), Shane Carthy for Cullen (40), Darren Daly for Cooper (51)

KILDARE: Shane Connolly; Mick Foley, Mick O’Grady, Hugh McGrillen; Keith Cribbin, Kevin Murnaghan, Paul Cribbin; Tommy Moolick, Gary White; Sean Hurley, Eoghan O’Flaherty, Cathal McNally; Paddy Brophy, Tomás O’Connor, Darroch Mulhall.

Subs: Fergal Conway for McGrillen (30), Padraig O’Neill for White (inj) (32), David Hyland for Foley (bc) (40), Padraig Fogarty for Keith Cribbin (51), Mikey Conway for McNally (58).

Referee: Marty Duffy (Sligo)

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne win third Munster Colleges football title in a row

Glory for Coláiste Eoin as they lift Leinster senior colleges football crown in Croke Park

Your Voice
Readers Comments