This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 13 December, 2018

Dublin hold off Kildare to book their first Leinster minor final in three years

Dublin will face Louth in the final.

Image: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

Dublin 1-16

Kildare 0-14

DUBLIN SET-UP a Leinster MFC final showdown with Louth after seeing off Kildare in tonight’s last four clash at St Conleth’s Park.

The Dubs will face an unfancied Louth on 17 July in the provincial decider following their five-point win over the Lilywhites.

It’s the first time Dublin have reached the minor final since 2014, when a side featuring Con O’Callaghan, Eoin Murchan, Aaron Byrne and Colm Basquel hammered Kildare by 10-points to lift the title.

It was an enjoyable affair in Newbridge, as Kildare raced into an early 0-3 to no score advantage.

It took Tom Grey’s team 16 minutes to open their account but Ross McGarry’s free eventually got them up and running. McGarry bagged a goal on the stroke of half-time to leave the Dubs 1-7 to 0-7 in front at the interval.

The home side had that lead cancelled out minutes after the restart as the neighbours were deadlocked at 0-11 to 1-8 on 36 minutes.

McGarry, James Doran and the impressive David Lacey all added points as Dublin extended their lead, while Brian McDonnell and Darragh Kirwan helped keep Kildare in touch.

Sean Hawkshaw kicked a couple of late scores as the winners managed to keep daylight between them and Kildare up until the finish.

Scorers for Dublin: Ross McGarry 1-2 (0-2f), David Lacey 0-5 (0-1f), Sean Hawkshaw 0-3, Donal Ryan and Daniel Brennan 0-2 each, James Doran and Ciaran Archer 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kildare: Darragh Kirwan 0-4, Jack Barrett 0-3 (0-3f), Shane O’Sullivan 0-2, Findlay Nairn, James Burke, Daragh Ryan, Brian McDonnell and Jack Cully 0-1 each.


David O’Hanlon

Darren Maher
Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne
Liam Flatman

Kieran Kennedy
Neil Matthews
Eoin O’Dea

Donal Ryan
Mark Tracey

Daniel Brennan
James Doran
James Madden

Ross McGarry
Seán Hawkshaw
David Lacey


Adam Byrne for Daniel Brennan (41)
Ciarán Archer for Ross McGarry (51)
Karl Lynch for Donal Ryan (55)
Darragh Conlon for James Madden (58)
Aaron Lynch for Darren Maher (62)


Aaron O’Neill

Daniel Reilly
Mark Barrett
DJ Earley

Darragh Ryan
Niall O’Connor
Conor Murphy

Cian McQuillan
David Kelly

Brian McDonnell
James Burke
Findlay Nairn

Jack Barrett
Shane O’Sullivan
Darragh Kirwan


Adam Cronin for Conor Murphy (36)
Jack Cully for Shane O’Sullivan (41)
David Foley for James Burke (44)
Evin McGovern for Niall O’Connor (46)
Niall O’Sullivan for Findlay Nairn (50)
Ger Cunnigham for Jack Barrett (55)

Referee: John Hickey (Carlow)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Kilkenny land 30 points en route to completing U21 and minor Leinster hurling double

Champions Cork set for rematch of 2016 semi-final with Monaghan after senior championship draw

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: