Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Thursday 26 November 2020


83,992 Views 29 Comments

Welcome along to Croke Park, a big league occasion here as last year’s All-Ireland finalists meet. Here are the teams named to start tonight.


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Donie Newcombe (Castlebar Mitchels)
3. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
4. Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

5. Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore)
6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7. David Drake (Ballinrobe)

8. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
9. Jason Gibbons (Ballintubber)

10. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
11. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)

13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
14. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber)
15. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2. Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
3. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
4. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)

5. Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s)

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Michael Darragh MacAuley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

10. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge-Street)
11. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
12. Shane B Carthy (St Vincent’s)

13. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)
14. Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue Synge Street)
15. Conor McHugh (Na Fianna)

Couple of late Mayo changes…

Game on here, David Coldrick is the referee.

Dublin 0-1 Mayo 0-0
2 mins – Dublin in front, Dean Rock slots over a free after Niall Scully was fouled.

Dublin 0-2 Mayo 0-0
3 mins – Conor McHugh swings over a nice point off his right after being set up by Michael Darragh MacAuley.

Dublin 1-2 Mayo 0-0
8 mins – Dublin should have netted through Eoghan O’Gara, he blazes wide after a superb delivery from Dean Rock found him alone near goal. But then from the resultant kickout, Niall Scully intercepted David Clarke’s kick and a quick move saw the ball transferred to Ciaran Kilkenny and then inside to McHugh who had the simple job of palming to the empty net.

Dublin 1-2 Mayo 0-1
10 mins – Cillian O’Connor holds his nerve to point a ’45 in front of the Hill for Mayo. They needed to get that off the mark.

CHANCE! Kevin McLoughlin has a shot on goal well-saved by Stephen Cluxton. Moments later Philly McMahon goes down under a high challenge from Cillian O’Connor.

Dublin 1-3 Mayo 0-2

23 mins – McMahon strokes one over from distance before a melee ensues in the square. Diarmuid O’Connor could be in trouble for tearing Dean Rock’s jersey.

Evan Regan comes back in for blood sub Conor Loftus.

Dublin 1-4 Mayo 0-2

27 mins – Rock converts the free and Dublin lead by five.

Niall Scully is dropping back to sweep right in front of Dublin’s full-back line.

Latest scores 

Cavan 0-2 Donegal 0-6
Tyrone 0-6 Monaghan 0-1

McMahon picks up a yellow.


GOAL DISALLOWED! MDMA had the ball in the net but he appeared to use his hand to direct the ball off the ground past David Clarke.

Colm Boyle kicks another Mayo wide. They’re really struggling to generate clear-cut scoring chances out here.

Dublin 1-5 Mayo 0-2

37 mins – Eric Lowndes adds a score from distance. Dublin are running great lines and picking off their points from distance, rendering Mayo’s sweeper Colm Boyle useless.

Dublin have been dominant at midfield, where Brian Fenton and MDMA are causing damage with runs from deep.

Tonight’s attendance is 34,758.

Dublin 1-6 Mayo 0-3

36 mins – Dean Rock clips over from close-range to stretch Dublin’s lead. At the far end McLoughlin is fouled as Evan Regan slots the free over the bar.

Dublin 1-6 Mayo 0-2

38 mins – Rock pings over another free and the Leinster champions lead by seven.

Dublin 1-7 Mayo 0-4

39 mins – Coen and Lowndes trade scores.

Cavan 0-4 Donegal 1-7

38 mins – Goal for Donegal from Ryan McHugh.

Tyrone 0-9 Monaghan 0-3

40 mins – Monaghan are down to 13 men. Fintan Kelly and Dermot Malone both dismissed in the early stages of the second-half.

Dublin 1-10 Mayo 0-5

41 mins – Regan (free) and McMahon swap scores. Then Diarmuid O’Connor has a goalbound shot saved by Cluxton, who feeds the ball up to Shane Carthy. The Dublin counter results in a Conor McHugh point.

Dublin 1-12 Mayo 0-5

44 mins – A slow Dublin build-up results in a Rock score from play. Then they intercept a Mayo kickout and Lowdnes slips the pass to McHugh for a score. Dublin are cruising to victory.

Dublin 1-10 Mayo 0-6

45 mins – Parsons kicks a fine score. Eoghan O’Gara is replaced by Paddy Andrews.


Dublin 1-12 Mayo 0-7

47 mins – Boyle races forward and pops over a decent score.


PENALTY! Rock is fouled by Vaughan just as he was about to pull the trigger. Vaughan is black-carded.

SAVE! David Clarke pulls off a brilliant triple save from Andrews. Sensational goalkeeping.

Shane Carthy is replaced by Paul Flynn.

Shane Nally replaces the black-carded Vaughan.


Cavan 0-7 Donegal 1-8
Tyrone 0-10 Monaghan 0-6

Dublin 1-13 Mayo 0-7

53 mins – Rock swings over another free from a tricky angle. At the far end Dublin chase down Cillian O’Connor who forces a 45. Andy Moran is replaced by Conor O’Shea.

Dublin 1-12 Mayo 0-7

54 mins – O’Connor sends the 45 wide. His radar has been off tonight.

Conor McHugh is replaced by Kevin McManamon.


Cavan 0-7  Donegal 1-12
Tyrone 0-11 Monaghan 0-7

Dublin 1-15 Mayo 0-7

62 mins – Kilkenny is fouled and Rock applies the afters. The margin moves to 10 points. Parsons picks up a yellow and Rock strokes over another free. Conor Loftus replaces Diarmuid O’Connor on the Mayo team.

Dublin 1-15 Mayo 0-7

66 mins – Flynn with a big score from distance! Monster score.

Brian Fenton is replaced by Emmett O Conghaile. Fenton adds another fine display to his CV tonight.

Mayo’s first option always seems to be to take a play, then they look up. Dublin are so much quicker at moving the ball.

Full-time: Dublin 1-16 Mayo 0-7

Full-time: Tyrone 0-14 Monaghan 0-10

Mayo’s attack badly malfunctioned tonight. Seven points is a dreadful return in 70 minutes. They’ve a long way to go.

Full-time: Cavan 0-11 Donegal 1-16

So wins for Dublin, Tyrone and Donegal tonight. Thanks for joining us.

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien