Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Monday 19 April 2021


40,211 Views 45 Comments

Welcome to Croker for tonight’s Allianz Football League showdown.

Here’s how the sides will line-out. A couple of changes to tell you about: Darren Daly replaces James McCarthy for Dublin, while Ultan Harney is in for Sean Mullolly on the Roscommon team.



Dublin 0-1 Roscommon 0-0

3 mins – Niall Scully swings over the opening score for Dublin.

Dublin 0-2 Roscommon 0-1 

6 mins – Enda Smith and Andrews trade scores. Good start from Roscommon here.

Dublin 0-2 Roscommon 0-2

7 mins – Enda Smith curls over his second effort of the night.

Dublin 0-4 Roscommon 0-3

9 mins – Dean Rock lands over a 45. Fine score.


Dublin 1-5 Roscommon 0-3

GOAL! Paul Flynn buries the ball into the back of the net! Dublin are in control now. Great take that time from Bernard Brogan.

Dublin 1-6 Roscommon 0-3

16 mins – Lowndes drills one over from distance.

Dublin 1-6 Roscommon 0-3

17 mins – Scully doubles his tally, this time with a score off the left.

Dublin 1-8 Roscommon 0-3

24 mins – Flynn sends over a fine score from the right flank.

Dublin 1-9 Roscommon 0-4 

27 mins – Diarmuid Murtagh and Brogan kick a point apiece.

Dublin sub: Shane B Carthy replaces David Byrne on the Dublin side.

Dublin 1-12 Roscommon 0-5 

32 mins – Hint of a goal chance for Roscommon, but Ciaran Reddin curls over a Dublin point at the far end.

Dublin 1-13 Roscommon 0-6

33 mins – Good score from Donie Smith, the Smith brothers are causing the Dubs problems. Flynn lands over an excellent point in response.

Dublin 1-14 Roscommon 0-6

35+1 mins – Lovely score by Brogan after a nice Dublin move.

Dublin 1-15 Roscommon 0-6

37 mins – Lowndes makes a good break forward and Rock fists over the bar for Dublin.

Jack McCaffrey comes in for Darren Daly, while Rock is replaced by Conor McHugh.

Dublin 1-16 Roscommon 0-6

41 mins – Reddin extends Dublin’s advantage.

Dublin 1-17 Roscommon 0-6

42 mins – McHugh with a nice score off the left.

Dublin 1-18 Roscommon 0-8

43 mins – Flynn tags on another score and there’s a big cheer for Diarmuid Connolly as he makes his season debut for the Dubs. Ciarain Murtagh scores one for the Rossies.

Michael Darragh MacAuley is in, that’s two former Footballer of the Years they’ve brought in now.

Dublin 1-19 Roscommon 0-8

47 mins – Flynn with another score. He’s been excellent.

Dublin 1-20 Roscommon 0-8

49 mins – Paul Mannion replaces O’Sullivan. McHugh converts a close-range free.

Dublin 1-21 Roscommon 0-8

52 mins – Flynn handpasses over the bar after a Brogan shot for a point hit the post. There was a goal on there but Flynn was happy to take his point.

Dublin 1-22 Roscommon 0-10

54 mins – Another good Dublin move results in McHugh curling over off the left.

SAVE! Shane Killoran forces an excellent save from Cluxton! Almost a goal there.


GOAL! Kevin McManamon is the last starting Dublin forward to score here. He drove through and finished with aplomb. Dublin lead 2-22 to 0-10.

Dublin 2-23 Roscommon 0-11

59 mins – Ciaran Murtagh (free) and McManamon trade scores.

Dublin 2-25 Roscommon 0-11

63 mins – Diarmuid Connolly, wearing number 5, opens his account for the year with a score from the right.

Dublin 2-27 Roscommon 0-11

65 mins – Paul Flynn can do no wrong. He picks off another score from distance.

Dublin 2-28 Roscommon 0-12

67 mins – Carthy from close range. Incredible scoring. Niall Kilroy strokes one over from the far end.

Dublin 2-29 Roscommon 0-12

70 mins – McCaffrey opens his account.

Dublin 2-29 Roscommon 0-12

70 mins – Gary Patterson with a good score from the right flank.

Dublin 2-29 Roscommon 0-14

72 mins – Cian Connolly converts a free for Roscommon.


Full-time scores

Dublin 2-29 Roscommon 0-14
Armagh 1-12 Antrim 0-13
Laois 1-13 Longford 0-13
Limerick 0-14 Waterford 0-8

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien