Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Friday 7 May 2021

Dublin name new look side for O'Byrne Cup opener

The All-Ireland senior football champions take on Westmeath in Mullingar tomorrow.

Stephen Cluxton starts in goal.
Stephen Cluxton starts in goal.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

DUBLIN MANAGER JIM Gavin has gone with an experimental starting XV for tomorrow’s O’Byrne Cup tie against Westmeath.

Last year’s All-Ireland SFC title winners return to action in Cusack Park (2pm) with just two players who started in the All-Ireland final victory over Mayo — Stephen Cluxton and Ciaran Kilkenny — retaining their places in the team with a raft of regulars rested.

Gavin comes up against former Dublin team-mate Paul Bealin, who took over Westmeath back in September.

Dublin team to face Westmeath: Stephen Cluxton (Parnell’s), Darragh Nelson (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Sean George (Ballymun Kickhams), Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala), Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s), Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps), Kevin Nolan (Kilmacud Crokes), Declan O’Mahony (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Shane Carthy (Naomh Mearnog), Conor Walsh (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh), Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock), Jason Whelan (Ballymun Kickhams), Paul Hudson (Thomas Davis), Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s), Philip Ryan (St Brigid’s).

Kerry and Cork unveil their starting sides for 2014 GAA openers

he black card offences explained in a simple graphic

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next: