Dublin: 14°C Tuesday 28 June 2022

45 scores as Dublin's hurlers claimed a narrow win over Tipperary tonight

The sides clashed in a challenge match in Drombane.

Dublin took on Tipperary tonight (file picture).
Dublin took on Tipperary tonight (file picture).
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Dublin 2-22
Tipperary 3-18

Jackie Cahill reports from Upperchurch-Drombane GAA club

TIPPERARY’S JOHN MCGRATH and Dublin forward Colm Cronin were involved in a high-scoring joust at Upperchurch-Drombane GAA grounds this evening.

McGrath marked his return to senior intercounty fare with a haul of 2-5 in the first half alone as Tipp lost by a point to the visiting Sky Blues.

Cronin hit 2-4 for Ger Cunningham’s side as Dublin came from behind to claim victory in an entertaining clash which marked the opening of new facilities at the local club.

McGrath missed the concluding stages of the League campaign with a pelvic problem and while he came on in the All-Ireland U21 football final, this evening marked his return to intercounty hurling.

The Loughmore-Castleiney star, a former dual All-Ireland minor medallist, made a big impact for Tipp in the League, scoring two points on his debut against Galway before bagging five in the victory over Clare at Cusack Park.

John McGrath John McGrath excelled for Tipperary tonight. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

And his return to fitness is a boost to Premier County boss Eamon O’Shea ahead of next month’s Munster SHC semi-final against Clare or Limerick.

McGrath’s exploits in front of goal helped a depleted Tipp to lead by 3-11 to 1-12 at half-time.

The hosts had to call in a number of players to make up number due to local club activities while Dublin fielded a strong team.

And Dublin’s greater strength in depth told in the second half as they reeled in Tipp to collect a morale-boosting win ahead of their Leinster SHC clash with Galway in a fortnight.

Scorers for Dublin: Colm Cronin 2-4, Paul Ryan 0-4 (0-2 65′s, 0-1f), Daire Plunkett 0-3, Conor Dooley, Darragh O’Connell, Ben Quinn, David Treacy, Oisin O’Rorke 0-2 each, Simon Lambert 0-1.

Scorers for Tipperary: John McGrath 2-5 (0-2f), Conor Kenny 0-5, Liam McGrath 1-0, Shane Bourke, Bill Maher (0-2f) 0-2 each, Colm Ryan, Shane McGrath, Patrick Maher, Paul Ryan (0-1f) 0-1 each.


1. Alan Nolan (St Brigid’s)

2. Niall Corcoran (Kilmacud Crokes)
3. Michael Carton (O’Toole’s)
4. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)

5. Shane Stapleton (St Pat’s Palmerstown)
6. Simon Lambert (Ballyboden St-Enda’s)
7. Joey Boland (Na Fianna)

8. Ben Quinn (Crumlin)
9. Darragh O’Connell (Cuala)

10. Daire Plunkett (St Brigid’s)
11. Colm Cronin (Cuala)
12. Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St-Enda’s)

13. David Treacy (Cuala)
14. Conor Dooley (Ballyboden St-Enda’s)
15. Oisin O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes)

Ryan O’Dwyer (Kilmacud Crokes) for O’Rorke (55)
Danny Sutcliffe (St Judes) for Ryan (61)
Chris Crummy (Lucan Sarsfields) for Carton (64)
Cian McGowan (Kilmacud Crokes) for Barrett (66).


1. Darragh Egan (Kildangan)

2. Pádraig Stapleton (Upperchurch-Drombane)
3. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
4. Tom Treacy (Cappawhite)

5. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
6. Tomas Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy)
7. Padraig Heffernan (Clonoulty-Rossmore)

8. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)
9. Adrian Ryan (Templederry Kenyons)

10. Shane Bourke (JK Brackens)
11. Dan McCormack (Borris Ileigh)
12. Colm Ryan  (Upperchurch-Drombane)

13. Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
14. Conor Kenny (Borris Ileigh)
15. John McGrath  (Loughmore-Castleiney)

Tossy Comerford (Holycross-Ballycahill) for Barry (20)
Kieran Morris (Moycarkey-Borris) for L McGrath (half-time)
Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha) for C Ryan (half-time)
Kieran O’Dwyer  (Holycross-Ballycahill) for A Ryan (half-time)
Paul Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane) for J McGrath (half-time)
Paddy Stapleton (Borris Ileigh) for Treacy (45)
Brendan Maher (Borris Ileigh) for McCormack (56).

Referee: Colm Lyons (Cork)

Kingdom seniors Geaney and Buckley hit the net as Dingle and Dr Crokes reach Kerry senior club final

Cork senior hurling champions lose out in first round tie

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: