Dublin: 9°C Wednesday 26 January 2022

5 goals for Dungarvan Colleges as they reach All-Ireland hurling decider

The Waterford side were too strong for Kilkenny outfit St Kieran’s in today’s semi-final clash while St Brigid’s (Loughrea) are also getting set for an All-Ireland decider.

Dungarvan Colleges triumphed in today's semi-final.
Dungarvan Colleges triumphed in today's semi-final.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Dungarvan Colleges 5-8
St Kieran’s (Kilkenny) 1-10

DR HARTY CUP holders Dungarvan Colleges are through to a very first Masita GAA All-Ireland Colleges SAHC final.

The Waterford boys demolished St Kieran’s College by ten points in this afternoon’s semi-final at a bitterly cold Waterford IT sports campus, Carriganore.

In this one-sided refixture, Darragh Lyons helped himself to a hat-trick of goals in a man of the match display.

Patrick Curran also netted, as did Ryan Donnelly, who bagged a brace of goals in the Harty Cup final victory over Our Lady’s Templemore.

By half-time, this tie was virtually over as a contest as Dungarvan stormed into a 4-3 to 0-6 lead.
Lyons netted his first goal in the second minute, with St Kieran’s goalkeeper Graham English unlucky not to keep the ball out, before the corner forward struck again in the 20th minute.

Two minutes later, he turned provider for Patrick Curran before Lyons completed his treble in the 24th minute, kicking the ball home from close range as the St Kieran’s full-back line came under intense pressure again.

Three goals in a blistering four-minute spell had knocked the stuffing out of St Kieran’s, who had recovered from the Leinster final defeat to city rivals Kilkenny CBS with a comfortable All-Ireland quarter-final victory against Our Lady’s Templemore.

However they had no answer to a powerful Dungarvan side here and the goal-scoring was complete early in the second half when Curran again turned provider, this time for Donnelly.

St Kieran’s managed just 1-3 from play during the entire game and they were over-reliant on midfielder Chris Bolger, who scored 1-6, including a stoppage time consolation goal.

Dungarvan Colleges now advance to face Kilkenny CBS in the final on Saturday week, April 6th, in Semple Stadium in Thurles.

Kilkenny CBS triumphed against Mercy Colleges in their semi-final tie last Saturday in Banagher and will be bidding to atone for last year’s All-Ireland final defeat to Nenagh CBS.

Patrick Curran was amongst the goalscorers for Dungarvan Colleges today.
Pic: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Scorers for Dungarvan Colleges: Darragh Lyons 3-1 (0-1f), Patrick Curran 1-2 (0-1f, 0-1 65), Ryan Donnelly 1-1, Christoir Breathnach 0-2, Tom Devine & Seamus Keating 0-1 each.
Scorers for St Kieran’s: Chris Bolger 1-6 (0-6f), Stephen Farrell, Liam Blanchfield, Vincent Teehan & Patrick Mullen (0-1f), 0-1 each.


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

DUNGARVAN COLLEGES: Laurence Power (Abbeyside); Michael Cronin (Ardmore), Brian Looby (Abbeyside), Keelin Looby (St Oliver’s); Tadhg Burke (Clashmore), Kevin Daly (Dungarvan), Tom Devine (Modeligo); Cormac Curran (Brickey Rangers), Colin Dunford (Colligan Emmets); Christoir Breathnach (An Rinn), Michael Harney (Bonmahon), Seamus Keating (Ardmore); Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan), Ryan Donnelly (Dungarvan), Patrick Curran (Dungarvan).

Subs: David Gartland (Ardmore) for Harney (56), Jack Mullaney (Stradbally) for K Looby (57), Sean Daly (Abbeyside) for Donnelly (58), Eamon Crotty (Abbeyside) for Keating (60+2).

ST KIERAN’S: Graham English (Barrow Rangers); Sean Morrissey (Bennetsbridge), James Tyrrell (James Tyrrell), Ciaran Breen (Barrow Rangers); Shane Parsonsn (O’Loughlin Gaels), Eoin Gough (Dicksboro), Eoin Walsh (Lisdowney); Chris Bolger (Clara), Stephen Farrell (Dicksboro); Liam Blanchfield (Bennetsbridge), James Maher (St Lachtain’s), Patrick Hickey (Danesfort); Michael Kenny (Lisdowney); Vincent Teehan (Graigue-Ballycallan), James Deasy (Ballyhale Shamrocks).

Subs: Patrick Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks) for Deasy (29), Josh Haines (John Lockes) for Hickey (53), Ricci Drennan (James Stephens) for Blanchfield (58), Luke Tennyson (Rower Inistioge) for Parsons (60).

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary).


All-Ireland Vocational SAHC

St Brigid’s (Loughrea) are celebrating after claiming a 2-11 to 0-7 All-Ireland semi-final victory over Scoil Airegeal (Ballyhale) this afternoon in Boherlahan in Tipperary.

The Galway school were ten-point victors over their Kilkenny counterparts and now advance to a final meeting with St Fergal’s (Rathdowney) on Saturday week in Semple Stadium.

Get the calculators out…Allianz hurling league permutations

GAA fixtures for the week ahead

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: