This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Saturday 15 December, 2018

Farrell and Itoje rested as Hartley captains England for visit of Argentina

Eddie Jones has stuck with Henry Slade and Sam Underhill in his side to face the Pumas, while Elliot Daly has been passed fit.

Hartley has been handed the captain's armband by Eddie Jones.
Hartley has been handed the captain's armband by Eddie Jones.

HENRY SLADE AND Sam Underhill have been named in England’s starting line-up to face Argentina on Saturday as Owen Farrell and Maro Itoje are given a rest.

Centre Slade and flanker Underhill started England’s last Test against the Pumas in June and keep their places in the side for the first November international at Twickenham.

British and Irish Lions duo Farrell and Itoje were not included in the matchday squad, with a clash against Australia to come a week later.

Elliot Daly will start on the left wing just a fortnight after suffering a medial knee ligament tear, but Jonny May misses out due to a hamstring injury.

Hooker Jamie George must again settle for a place on the bench, with captain Dylan Hartley retaining his spot.

England head coach Eddie Jones said: “As a squad we have been preparing for this game since our first camp in August and are excited about playing in front of 82,000 fans at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday.

“This is our best 23 selected in what is our most important game this year. We know that Argentina is a strong team – Rugby World Cup semi-finalists in 2015 – and we will have to be smart and play well to beat them.”


15. Mike Brown
14. Anthony Watson
13. Jonathan Joseph
12. Henry Slade
11. Elliot Daly
10. George Ford
9. Ben Youngs

1. Mako Vunipola
2. Dylan Hartley (captain)
3. Dan Cole
4. Courtney Lawes
5. George Kruis
6. Chris Robshaw
7. Sam Underhill
8. Nathan Hughes.


16. Jamie George
17. Ellis Genge
18. Harry Williams
19. Joe Launchbury
20. Tom Curry
21. Danny Care
22. Alex Lozowski
23. Semesa Rokoduguni.

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Sean O’Brien is on the shortlist for IRPA Try of the Year

‘I want to play for Ireland’: Bowe still hungry to break back into Schmidt’s plans

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel