This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 18 °C Friday 3 July, 2020


13,565 Views 1 Comment


Mary Immaculate College 3-24 IT Carlow 1-19


Afternoon all and welcome along to our live coverage of the 2017 Fitzgibbon Cup final. IT Carlow face Mary Immaculate College at 1pm in Pearse Stadium.

DJ Carey and Michael Dempsey celebrate winning IT Carlow manager DJ Carey Source: Mike Shaughnessy/INPHO

Jamie Wall speaks to his team after winning Mary Immaculate College winning manager Jamie Wall speaks to his team Source: Mike Shaughnessy/INPHO

Here are the starting teams.

IT Carlow

1. Enda Rowland (Abbeyleix, Laois)

2. Dwayne Palmer (Camross, Laois)
3. Kevin Hannafin (St Brendan’s, Kerry)
4. Ross Browne (Colligan, Waterford)

5. Robert Moran (Castlecomer, Kilkenny)
6. Damian Healy (Longwood, Meath)
7. Dale O’Hanlon (Carrick Swans, Tipperary)

8. James Doyle (St Mullin’s, Carlow)
9. Colin Dunford (Colligan, Waterford)

10. Charles Dwyer (Ballinakill, Laois)
14. Stephen Maher (Clough-Ballacolla, Laois)
12. Martin Kavanagh (St Mullin’s, Carlow)

13. Jack Fagan (De La Salle, Waterford)
11. Mark Russell (Lattin-Cullen, Tipperary)
15. Chris Bolger (Clara, Kilkenny)

Mary Immaculate

1. Ciaran Barrett (Clonmel Óg, Tipperary)

2. David Sweeney (Kiladangan, Tipperary)
3. Richie English (Doon, Limerick)
4. Eoin Quirke (captain) (Whitegate, Clare)

5. Conor Twomey (Newtownshandrum, Cork)
6. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields, Tipperary)
7. Alan Flynn (Kiladangan, Tipperary)

8. Colm Galvin (Clonlara, Clare)
9. Stephen Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields, Tipperary)

10. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon, Limerick)
11. Michael O’Neill (Kilmaley, Clare)
12. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell, Limerick)

17. Tadhg Gallagher (Kiladangan, Tipperary)
14. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell, Limerick)
22. Luke Meade (Newcestown, Cork)

Mary Immaculate 0-2 IT Carlow 0-0
2 mins – Lightning start by the champions with Michael O’Neill pointing from play and Aaron Gillane on target from a free.

Mary Immaculate 0-3 IT Carlow 0-0
4 mins – Marvellous point from distance by wing-back Conor Twomey for Mary Immaculate.

Mary Immaculate 0-3 IT Carlow 0-1
5 mins – IT Carlow up and running as Stephen ‘Picky’ Maher slots over a free.

Mary Immaculate 0-5 IT Carlow 0-1
7 mins – They’re flying now as the Limerick pair of Darragh O’Donovan and Cian Lynch are both on target.

Mary Immaculate 0-6 IT Carlow 0-2
8 mins – Point for Chris Bolger but half chance of a goal there after Martin Kavanagh’s strong incisive run set up the IT Carlow corner-forward. Cian Lynch replies at the other end for Mary I.

Mary Immaculate 0-7 IT Carlow 0-3
10 mins – Ronan Maher splits the posts with a point from distance from a long-range free but then Colin Dunford replies with an excellent score.

Mary Immaculate 0-8 IT Carlow 0-3
12 mins – Darragh O’Donovan splits the posts from a sideline cut.

Mary Immaculate 0-9 IT Carlow 0-3
16 mins – Conor Twomey with his second point of the day from wing-back for Mary Immaculate and then they nearly hit the net but Tadhg Gallagher’s shot is smartly blocked by Enda Rowland before Luke Meade’s shot from the rebound goes wide.

Mary Immaculate 0-10 IT Carlow 0-4
19 mins – Maher with a free at one end for IT Carlow before Luke Meade restores Mary I’s six-point advantage.

Mary Immaculate 0-11 IT Carlow 0-4
20 mins – Colm Galvin flights over a superb point for Mary I.

Mary Immaculate 0-12 IT Carlow 0-5
23 mins – Ronan Maher bangs over a long-range free for Mary I before Maher responds for IT Carlow.

Mary Immaculate 0-12 IT Carlow 0-7
24 mins – Maher on target again from a free and then Charles Dwyer points. The gap is back to five now.

Mary Immaculate 0-13 IT Carlow 0-7
27 mins – Ronan Maher’s long rang striking from placed balls has been superb today. He’s just hit his third point.

Mary Immaculate 0-15 IT Carlow 0-7
28 mins – Maher and O’Neill stretch Mary I’s lead to eight points.

Mary Immaculate 0-16 IT Carlow 0-8
31 mins – Maher for IT Carlow and Cian Lynch for Mary I trade points.

Mary Immaculate 0-16 IT Carlow 0-9
31 mins – Maher hits over the first point of the second half for IT Carlow.

Sub: Galway’s Thomas Monaghan comes in for Mary Immaculate for Tadhg Gallagher.

Mary Immaculate 0-16 IT Carlow 0-10
34 mins – Maher again and the gap is down to six but then Jack Fagan misses a glorious chance to score.

Mary Immaculate 0-17 IT Carlow 0-10
35 mins – Superb run by substitute Thomas Monaghan, he offloads to O’Neill and the Kilmaley man points for Mary Immaculate.

Mary Immaculate College 1-17 IT Carlow 0-10
37 mins – A fine one-handed strike to the net by Darragh O’Donovan and Mary I go ten points clear.

Mary Immaculate 1-18 IT Carlow 0-11
38 mins – Points swapped by Conor Twomey and Martin Kavanagh.

Mary Immaculate 1-18 IT Carlow 0-12
40 mins – Maher converts a free for IT Carlow.

Mary Immaculate 1-19 IT Carlow 0-12
42 mins – Gillane knocks over a free and the gap is out to ten points.

Mary Immaculate 1-19 IT Carlow 0-14
42 mins – IT Carlow still battling on as Colin Dunford clips over an excellent point from play and Maher hits over a free. They needs goal though and the exertions of yesterday’s extra-time win could start to tell.

Mary Immaculate 1-20 IT Carlow 0-14
48 mins – Gillane points and then wins a penalty!

Mary Immaculate 2-20 IT Carlow 0-15
50 mins – And that should be that. Gillane unleashes a fierce drive to the net and Mary Immaculate are surely set now to retain their Fitzgibbon Cup title. Maher does grab a point back at the other end.

Mary Immaculate 2-22 IT Carlow 1-16
55 mins – Some joy for IT Carlow as they find the net courtesy of Stephen ‘Picky’ Maher.

Mary Immaculate 2-22 IT Carlow 1-18
56 mins – Deficit cut to seven as Maher hits over a brace of frees.

Mary Immaculate 3-23 IT Carlow 1-18
60 mins – That seals it. A third goal for the title holders, substitute Pa Ryan flicking a shot to the net after Aaron Gillane’s initial shot was superbly blocked by goalkeeper Enda Rowland.

Limerick’s Cian Lynch has won the man-of-the-match award.

Mary Immaculate 3-24 IT Carlow 1-19
63 mins – Outstanding save by goalkeeper Ciaran Barrett from Charles Dwyer, he points the rebound.

All over and Mary Immaculate College run out hugely deserving winners. Goals from Darragh O’Donovan, Aaron Gillane and Pa Ryan sealing their victory.

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole