Skehill suffers injury scare for Galway while Kilkenny hand debut to Walsh

There has been major breaking news this evening concerning the selections for Sunday’s All-Ireland final replay.

Galway's James Skehill.
Galway's James Skehill.
Image: INPHO/Billy Stickland

Updated 21.40pm

GALWAY GOALKEEPER JAMES Skehill remains in contention to feature in Sunday’s All-Ireland hurling final replay despite dislocating his shoulder during a light training session earlier this evening.

Skehill suffered the injury while diving to stop a shot during a squad puck around this evening. The Cappataggle net minder was subsequently transferred to hospital where RTÉ have reported that doctors were able to put the shoulder back in place and increase his chances of featuring in Sunday’s showdown.

Skehill has previously suffered shoulder injuries, dislocating his right shoulder against Dublin in a challenge match in 2009 and earlier this year he dislocated his left shoulder in a league game against Waterford.

Skehill was named in the official Galway team selection that was released this evening and would be a major loss if he is ruled out after impressing in the drawn match with a superb late save to deny Kilkenny’s Colin Fennelly from finding the net.

If Skehill was to be absent, it would likely pave the way for Padraig Pearses goalkeeper Fergal Flannery to get the nod between the posts. The substitute netminder tasted senior championship experience earlier this summer when deputising for the injured Skehill in the Leinster championship opener against Westmeath. Flannery won an All-Ireland minor medal with Galway in 2009, after losing the decider in that competition in 2008.

Meanwhile Kilkenny manager Brian Cody has made dramatic changes to his attack for Sunday’s match with Walter Walsh having been handed his starting senior debut at full-forward while Cillian Buckley comes into the side at right half-forward. The alterations mark a major shake-up as Aidan Fogarty and Colin Fennelly are the players to make way.

Kilkenny’s Walter Walsh. Pic: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

Walsh’s inclusion is the biggest surprise. A tall strong attacker, he was promoted to the senior panel the year after a series of strong performances at underage level. He started at centre-forward on the Kilkenny minor team that won the 2008 All-Ireland minor title and the following spring featured for his club Tullogher-Rosbercon in the All-Ireland JHC final when they were defeated by Cork outfit Dripsey.

Walsh was a strong figure on the Kilkenny U21 team that reached the Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland final against Clare earlier this month. He registered 2-7 from play during their campaign this year including a brace of points in the meeting with the Banner.

Buckley returns to the starting line-up having lost out in the wake of the Leinster final loss to Galway in July. He came on as a substitute in the All-Ireland quarter-final win over Limerick and the semi-final success against Tipperary but did not feature in the drawn decider with Galway.

Here is the Galway team and subs for Sunday’s game.

GALWAY SH: 1. James Skehill (Cappataggle); 2. Johnny Coen (Loughrea), 3. Kevin Hynes (Sarsfields), 4. Fergal Moore (Turloughmore); 5. Niall Donoghue (Kilbeacanty), 6. Tony Og Regan (Rahoon-Newcastle), 7. David Collins (Liam Mellows); 8. Iarlaith Tannian (Ardrahan), 9. Andy Smith (Portumna); 10. David Burke (St. Thomas), 11. Niall Burke (Oranmoe-Maree), 12. Cyril Donnellan (Padraig Pearses); 13. Damien Hayes (Portumna), 14. Joe Canning (Portumna), 15. James Regan (St. Thomas).
Subs: 16. Feargal Flanney (Padraig Pearses), 17. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields), 18. Conor Cooney (St. Thomas), 19. Jonathon Glynn (Ardrahan), 20. Davy Glennon (Mullagh), 21. Tadhg Haran (Liam Mellows), 22. Aidan Harte (Gort), 23. Niall Healy (Craughwell), 24. Paul Gordon (Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry), 25. Ger O’Halloran (Craughwell), 26. Paul Hoban (Loughrea).
And here is the Kilkenny team and subs for Sunday’s match.
KILKENNY SH: 1. David Herity (Dunamaggin); 2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort), 3. JJ Delaney (Fenians), 4. Jackie Tyrrell (James Stephens); 5. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan), 6. Brian Hogan (O’Loughlin Gaels), 7. Kieran Joyce (Rower-Inistioge); 8. Michael Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), 9. Richie Hogan (Danesfort); 10. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro), 11. Richie Power (Carrickshock), 12. Eoin Larkin (James Stephens); 13. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), 14. Walter Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon), 15. Henry Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks).
Subs: 16. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore), 17. Noel Hickey (Dunamaggin), 18. Richie Doyle (Barrow Rangers), 19. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own), 20. John Tennyson (Carrickshock), 21. Paddy Hogan (Danesfort), 22. Aidan Fogarty (Emeralds), 23. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), 24. Matthew Ruth (James Stephens), 25. Mark Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels), 26. Joe Brennan (St Patrick’s Ballyragget).

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: