Donall Farmer/INPHO Galway's Evan Niland and Kilkenny's Tommy Walsh.
# All Square
Replay needed for Galway and Kilkenny after extra-time All-Ireland minor hurling drama
Croke Park is the venue for today’s curtain-raiser.

Galway 2-20
Kilkenny 0-26

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

GALWAY AND KILKENNY will have to meet again after a last-gasp free in extra-time by Andy Gaffney tied the teams in today’s Electric Ireland All-Ireland minor hurling semi-final at Croke Park.

Gaffney converted a free from 20 yards to save Kilkenny and then had one last attempt from a free from distance to hit the winner but his shot drifted wide.

Galway had nearly snatched a dramatic victory after earlier forcing extra-time through a fine point in injury-time at the end of normal time from Thomas Monaghan.

Kilkenny exploded from the blocks in extra-time and reeled off six points without reply to move into a commanding position.

Thomas Monaghan celebrates scoring his side's first goal Donall Farmer / INPHO Thomas Monaghan celebrates scoring Galway's opening goal Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

They were in front by 0-24 to 1-17 at the midway mark in extra-time and when Gaffney pointed a free in the 76th minute, they were in front 0-25 to 1-18.

But then Galway substitute Cian Salmon rose to whip a long-range free from Evan Niland to the net with three minutes left on the clock.

Niland pointed a free moments later to tie the teams before Liam Forde looked like being Galway’s hero when he nudged them in front with a terrific point.

Then Gaffney intervened with his tenth point of the afternoon to rescue a replay for the Leinster champions.

Galway had made the early running to be in front by 0-7 to 0-3 after the opening quarter and were in front 0-10 to 0-8 at the interval.

But they struggled for scores in the second-half as Kilkenny took control. Kilkenny were ahead 0-13 to 0-10 entering the final quarter yet then Galway received a lifeline when Monaghan smashed home a brilliant goal after being set up by Salmon in the 48th minute.

Sean Loftus with Darren Mullen Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

The game ebbed and flowed in the closing stages. Kilkenny’s brilliant midfielder Richie Leahy pushed them clear in the finale yet Galway responded to draw level.

Then substitute Conor Hennessy looked to have hit the winner for Kilkenny before Monaghan’s intervention sent the game to extra-time.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Andy Gaffney 0-10 (0-8f, 0-1 ’65), Richie Leahy 0-4, Conor Hennessy 0-3, John Donnelly 0-2, Michael Cody, Conor Doheny, Joe Connolly, Daniel O’Connor, Shane Mahony, Joey Cuddihy, Bill Sheehan 0-1 each.Scorers for Galway: Evan Niland 0-8 (0-6f, 0-1 ’65), Thomas Monaghan 1-3, Cian Salmon 1-0, Brian Concannon 0-2, Ciarán Connor, Jack Grealish, Fintan Burke, Michael Lynch, Seán Loftus, Cianan Fahy, Liam Forde 0-1 each.


1. Shane Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Michael Cody (Dunnamaggin)
3. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)
4. Cathal McGrath (John Lockes)

5. Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
6. Darragh Joyce (Rower-Inistioge)
7. Conor Doheny (Dicksboro)

8. Richie Leahy (Rower-Inistioge)
9. Joe Connolly (Clara)

10. Daniel O’Connor (O’Loughlin Gaels – captain)
11. Shane Mahony (O’Loughlin Gaels)
12. John Donnelly (Thomastown)

13. Andy Gaffney (Dicksboro)
14. Joey Cuddihy (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
15. Tadhg O’Dwyer (James Stephens)

Thomas Monaghan with Richie Leahy Donall Farmer / INPHO Galway's Thomas Monaghan with Kilkenny's Richie Leahy Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

19. Edmund Delaney (Conahy Shamrocks) for Donnelly (half-time)
20. Conor Hennessy (Tullogher Rosbercon) for O’Connor (42)
18. Ryan Bergin (John Lockes) for Joyce (52)
21. Niall Walsh (Windgap) for Connolly (58)
22. Bill Sheehan (Dicksboro) for O’Dwyer (60)
15. O’Dwyer for Mahony (70)
23. Johnny McEvoy (James Stephens) for Donnelly (79)

Jack Coyne with Conor Doheny Donall Farmer / INPHO Galway's Jack Coyne with Kilkenny's Conor Doheny Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO


1. Darragh Gilligan (Craughwell)

4. Kieran O’Connor (Kilnadeema-Leitrim)
3. Jack Fitzpatrick (Killimordaly)
2. Shane Bannon (Clarinbridge)

5. Caelom Mulry (Abbeyknockmoy)
6. Ian O’Brien (Clarinbridge)
7. Andrew Greaney (Craughwell)

8. Jack Grealish (Gort)
9. Jack Coyne (Castlegar)

10. Brian Concannon (Killimordaly)
11. Tom Monaghan (Craughwell)
12. Fintan Burke (St Thomas)

13. Michael Lynch (Kilnadeema-Leitrim)
14. Evan Niland (Clarinbridge)
15. Sean Loftus (captain) (Turloughmore)

Jeffrey Lynskey James Crombie / INPHO Galway boss Jeffrey Lynsey James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

17. Cianan Fahy (Ardrahan) for Concannon (39)
20. Cian Salmon (Clarinbridge) for Burke (43)
22. Kevin Cooney (Sarsfields) for Lynch (56)
10. Concannon for Grealish (64)
18. Liam Forde (Ardrahan) for Coyne (67)
12. Burke for Monaghan (inj) (72)

Referee: John O’Brien (Tipperary)

6 talking points after Mayo and Tyrone advance with Dublin and Kerry lying in wait

Darren Hughes has the final say on Tiernan McCann’s ‘Hairgate’ dive

Your Voice
Readers Comments