This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 14 December, 2018

Canning man-of-the-match as Galway lift All-Ireland minor title with win over Cork

Jack Canning hit two second-half goals as Galway won a brilliant decider.

Galway 2-17
Cork 2-15

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

JACK CANNING SMASHED home two second-half goals and claimed the man-of-the-match award as Galway lifted the Electric Ireland All-Ireland minor hurling title today with victory against Cork.

Jack Canning Jack Canning celebrates hitting the net for Galway. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Galway trailed 2-7 to 0-10 at the break with Cork starting excellently as Brian Turnbull and Evan Sheehan, both injury doubts before the game, netted in the first-half.

Turnbull’s goal arrived after just eight seconds of play and despite being hampered by a hamstring injury, he still shone throughout and finished with 1-7.

Sheehan fired home a brilliant second goal in the 15th minute as Cork went in front 2-3 to 0-3 but Galway cut that advantage before the interval with Seán Bleahane and Conor Molloy both in accurate form.

Then Galway exploded into life after the break with Donal Mannion’s wonderful run setting up Canning to finish to the net with aplomb and the Portumna youngster blasted home another goal in the 39th minute.

Galway used that as a platform to go 2-17 to 2-12 clear entering the finale and while Cork hit the final three points of the game through Turnbull (2) and Robert Downey, Galway’s defence repelled their advances to triumph.

Conor O’Callaghan and Sean Bleahene Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Scorers for Galway: Jack Canning 2-2, Conor Molloy 0-7 (0-7f), Sean Bleahene 0-5, Ben Moran, Donal Mannion, Daniel Loftus (0-1f) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Brian Turnbull 1-7 (0-3f), Liam O’Shea 0-3, Evan Sheehan 1-0, Craig Hanafin 0-2, Barry Murphy, Daire Connery, Robert Downey 0-1 each.


1. Darrach Fahy (Ardrahan)

2. Caimin Killeen (Loughrea)
3. Daniel Loftus (Turloughmore)
4. Darren Morrissey (Sarsfields – captain)

5. Ronan Glennon (Mullagh)
6. Conor Caulfield (Kilconieron)
7. Mark Gill (Castlegar)

21. Conor Molloy (Kilnadeema-Leitrim)
9. Conor Fahy (Padraig Pearses)

10. Ben Moran (Tynagh Abbey Duniry)
11. Conor Walsh (Turloughmore)
12. Martin McManus (Loughrea)

13. Sean Bleahene (Ahascragh Fohenagh)
14. Donal Mannion (Cappataggle)
15. Jack Canning (Portumna)


22. Shane Ryan (Clarinbridge) for McManus (half-time)
17. Sam McArdle (Clarinbridge) for Loftus (53)
24. Mark Kennedy (Clarinbridge) for Moran (56)
20. Enda Fahy (Kilbeacanty) for Walsh (61)


1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtarriffe)
3. Sean O’Leary-Hayes (Midleton – captain)
4. Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)

5. Aaron Walsh-Barry (Carrigtwohill)
6. James Keating (Kildorrery)
7. Ger Millerick (Fr. O Neill’s)

8. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Diarmuid Linehan (Ballyhooly)

10. Craig Hanifin (Na Piarsaigh)
11. Liam O’Shea (Lisgoold)
12. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)

13. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
15. Brian Turnbull (Douglas)


23. Declan Hanlon (Blarney) for Linehan (38)
20. Barry Murphy (Castlelyons) for Walsh Barry (46)

Referee: Sean Cleere (Kilkenny)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

‘Time waits for no man’ – RTÉ’s promo video will leave you pumped for today’s All-Ireland final

Our writers give their predictions for today’s All-Ireland hurling final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel