This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 20 °C Thursday 28 May, 2020

McInerney and Canning named in Galway team for Clare replay

Micheál Donoghue has selected an unchanged side for tomorrow’s semi-final clash in Thurles.

The Galway team pictured before last weekend's drawn All-Ireland semi-final against Clare.
The Galway team pictured before last weekend's drawn All-Ireland semi-final against Clare.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

GALWAY HAVE NAMED an unchanged team for their All-Ireland senior hurling semi-final replay against Clare.

It means that centre-back Gearoid McInerney and centre-forward Joe Canning have both been selected by manager Micheál Donoghue in spite of their injury concerns.

However, whether they play from the start for the champions tomorrow afternoon at Semple Stadium in Thurles (2.oopm) remains to be seen.

The duo sustained calf and knee injuries respectively in last weekend’s thrilling drawn game at Croke Park, which ended 1-30 each after extra-time.

Clare have delayed naming their team until “shortly before throw-in” tomorrow.

The winners will take on Limerick in the All-Ireland final on 19 August.


1. James Skehill (Cappataggle)

2. Adrian Tuohy (Beagh)
3. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore)
4. John Hanbury (Rahoon-Newcastle)

5. Padraig Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)
6. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore-Maree)
7. Aidan Harte (Gort)

8. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
9. David Burke (St Thomas’)

10. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)
11. Joe Canning (Portumna)
12. Jonathan Glynn (Ardrahan)

13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
14. Conor Cooney (St Thomas)
15. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel