Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Tuesday 13 April 2021

Lack of killer instinct costs Galway against 10-man Derry

It may be a precious point for the home side they really should have claimed all three.

Galway United goalkeeper Conor Winn.
Galway United goalkeeper Conor Winn.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Galway United 0

Derry City 0

CONOR WINN CLAIMED a clean sheet as Galway United ended their poor run of form but they could only manage a draw at home to the 10 men of Derry City at Eamonn Deacy Park.

After last weekend’s defeat against Sligo, Galway’s season was at risk of falling apart but this could prove to be a precious point when they return after the mid-season break.

However, they should have won. It was 0-0 at half time as Galway struggled to find the end product despite numerous excursions into the Derry City penalty box.

Ryan Connolly was a constant threat and he almost sent Ruairi Keating through for a goal in the seventh minute but Dean Jarvis headed off the line.

Conor McCormack got his first yellow when he dived in the box on the 19th minute. However he didn’t heed the warnings of the referee and Jim McKell showed him a second yellow card when he collided with Marc Ludden nine minutes later.

But Galway seemed to fall deep afterwards and they lacked the killer instinct with Derry City on the brink. Kilian Cantwell and Keating had a couple of chances before half time but they couldn’t test Gerard Doherty in the Derry goal.

Keith Ward had Derry’s first shot on target in the 58th minute, but Winn stood tall and saved.

At the other end, Enda Curran headed wide and then Vinny Faherty had a goal disallowed for offside in the 66th minute.

Aaron McEneff and Stephen Folan went close late on but neither side could find a winner.

GALWAY UNITED: Conor Winn; Kilian Cantwell, Paul Sinnott, Stephen Folan, Marc Ludden (Conor Melody, 85); Gary Shanahan, John Sullivan, Ryan Connolly, Ruairi Keating (Kevin Devaney, 52); Enda Curran (Jesse Devers, 79), Vinny Faherty.

DERRY CITY: Gerard Doherty; Niclas Vemmelund, Ryan McBride, Aaron Barry, Dean Jarvis; Nathan Boyle, Conor McCormack, Lucas Schubert (Keith Ward, 25), Aaron McEneff, Josh Daniels; Rory Patterson (Conor McDermott, 35).

Referee: Jim McKell (Tipperary).

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Irish women’s Euros hopes all but ended by Finland rout

Airtricity League condemn Athlone Town’s late withdrawal from First Division fixture

About the author:

Daragh Small

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel