Advertisement

Gareth Bale falls over on Real Madrid comeback, wins penalty

Now with added video clip!

Gareth Bale conveniently loses his balance in the Malaga box.
Gareth Bale conveniently loses his balance in the Malaga box.
Image: AP Photo/Andres Kudacki

GARETH BALE’S SECOND COMING as a Real Madrid player [after an injury lay-off] was in a 2 — 0 league win over Malaga.

The Welshman, recently insured for €91m by the Spanish side, came off the bench after 76 minutes and won his side a penalty. Racing into the box late in the game, Bale brushed off Malaga defender Wellington and hit the deck. It looked, for all the world, like a simple slip but the referee pointed to the spot.

Bale kept his head down, amid a din of finger-wagging, while Cristiano Ronaldo stepped up and dispatched the penalty. We tracked down new video footage that captures the Bale slip-up from several angles. Check it out:

YouTube credit: brkYpictures

Should this controversial Chelsea goal have stood?

Zlatan Ibrahimovic scored another stunning goal today

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

About the author:

Patrick McCarry

Read next:

COMMENTS (20)