Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 17°C Tuesday 22 September 2020

Gordon D'Arcy and Michael Bent sent out to impress on Leinster duty

The centre and prop will hope to force their way in to Joe Schmidt’s squad plans over the weekend.

Image: James Crombie/INPHO

IRELAND’S WORLD CUP hopefuls Gordon D’Arcy and Michael Bent have been named in the starting line-up for Leinster’s pre-season meeting with Moseley in Donnybrook tomorrow (KO 7.30pm).

Isaac Boss, Jack Conan and Fergus McFadden are also on provincial duty as they are included in the list of possible replacements.

Captain Kevin McLaughlin will lead the side which also contains Isa Nacewa at fullback.

Leo Cullen has named a relatively inexperienced starting side including Cathal Marsh at out-half with Dan Leavy and Peadar Timmins joining McLaughlin in the back row.

Bent’s selection at tighthead prop will see him get some valuable game time in the number three jersey after he enjoyed a resurgence in form on the other side of the scrum last season.

Les Kiss this week stated that Ireland’s coaching staff would be keeping a close eye on provincial performances this weekend before the 31-man Rugby World Cup squad is finalised on Monday.

Leinster (v Moseley, kick-off Friday, 19.30 in Donnybrook)

15. Isa Nacewa
14. Adam Byrne
13. Colm O’Shea
12. Gordon D’Arcy
11. Mick McGrath
10. Cathal Marsh
9. Luke McGrath

1. Peter Dooley
2. Aaron Dundon
3. Michael Bent
4. Tom Denton
5. Mike McCarthy
6. Kevin McLaughlin (Capt.)
7. Dan Leavy
8. Peadar Timmins

Replacements from: Bryan Byrne, Jamie Hagan, Royce Burke-Flynn, Ross Molony, Dominic Ryan, Isaac Boss, Ross Byrne, Fergus McFadden, Tadhg Beirne, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan, Darragh Fanning, Noel Reid, Ben Te’o and Billy Dardis.

Scrapped national stadium means Japan must issue fresh Rugby World Cup plan

The42 writers pick their 31-man Ireland Rugby World Cup squad

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: