This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 0 °C Thursday 17 January, 2019

7 players we'll miss in this year's hurling championship

Some pretty impressive names have hung up their hurls since last year’s championship.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

SINCE LAST SUMMER, some high-profile hurlers have called time on their inter-county careers.

After bowing out to Galway in the All-Ireland semi-finals, some of Tipperary’s finest players left the panel including the influential midfield partnership of James Woodlock and Shane McGrath. These and others won’t just be a loss to their county teams this summer, but to hurling fans all over the country.

We take a look at some of the standout players we’ll miss in this year’s hurling championship.

1) Lar Corbett (Tipperary)

Lar Corbett Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

The 2010 Hurler of the Year will be a big loss to the Premier County this year. The clinical forward won two All-Ireland medals, in 2001 and 2010, along with three All-Stars, six Munster championships and two National League titles.

Corbett will forever be remembered for this hat-trick in the 2010 All-Ireland Final against Kilkenny.

Source: Conor Ryan/YouTube

2) Richie Power (Kilkenny)

An eight-time All-Ireland winner with the Cats, Power’s 11-year senior career came to a premature end due to injury.

The 30-year-old was unarguably one of the best attackers in the game until the effect of six knee surgeries restricted him from donning the black and amber this year.

Richie Power celebrates Source: James Crombie/INPHO

3) Conor O’Mahony (Tipperary)

O’Mahony has been cited as one of Tipperary’s most consistent hurlers of the last decade, and rightly so. Since he made his senior debut in 2005, he has just one All-Ireland medal to his name, despite his talent suggesting he deserves more. O’Mahony’s individual efforts were recognised however as he scooped two All-Star awards in 2008 and 2009.

Conor O'Mahony

4) Stephen Walsh (Limerick)

Walsh lined out at corner-back on the Limerick side that won the Munster title in 2013, ending their 17-year wait for a provincial title. The Glenroe clubman, who made his inter-county debut in 2009, decided to call it quits in December due to work commitments.

Stephen Walsh Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

5) James Woodlock (Tipperary)

The midfield mastermind left the Tipperary panel last November, leaving supporters with many questions as to why he retired at just 29. A panellist since 2006, Woodlock won three Munster titles and a National League. The skilful player missed out on the Premier’s All-Ireland win in 2010 after he broke his leg while on club duty.

James Woodlock Source: James Crombie/INPHO

6) Shane McGrath (Tipperary)

Often Woodlock’s midfield partner, two-time All-Star Shane McGrath will prove another big loss to Tipperary this summer. McGrath was involved with the panel for 10 seasons, contributing to five Munster titles, a National League and the Premier’s 2010 All-Ireland win.

Shane McGrath kicks forward Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

7) Rory Jacob (Wexford)

In his prime, Jacob was one of the best hurlers to play for the Model County in recent years. He’s one of the fortunate players from outside of Kilkenny to have won a Leinster title during Brian Cody’s reign, scoring 0-2 against Offaly in the 2004 final.

Wexford’s 2008 captain completed 14 years of service and is renowned for his handling ability and point scoring.

Rory Jacob Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Poll: Who do you think will win this year’s Munster SHC?

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel