Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 4°C Tuesday 26 January 2021

GAA chiefs stick with current hurling league format after Croke Park deliberations

Beaten All-Ireland finalists Cork and Munster kingpins Limerick will play in division 1B.

Cork manager Jimmy Barry Murphy.
Cork manager Jimmy Barry Murphy.
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

CORK WILL PLAY in Division 1B next season after deliberations at Croke Park.

There was four proposals on the table this afternoon at GAA HQ but the Association have decided to stick with the staus quo.

That means the top tier will consist of division of six teams; All-Ireland champions Clare, Tipperary, Kilkenny, Dublin, Galway and Waterford.  The Rebels will contest Division 1B with Munster champions, Limerick, Laois, Offaly, Antrim and Wexford.

“Today’s meeting considered and voted on three separate proposals choosing first between the possibility of six or seven team divisions with a preference expressed for the former,” a statement from the GAA reads.

“A second vote between the two six-team models saw the original structure defeat the proposal as put forward by Michael Burns recently. The new arrangements will run for three years concurrently with the changes pending for the championships, which also come into effect next year, allowing for a full review of the two main hurling competitions in 2016.”

Sky Sports could bid for GAA championship rights

Poll: Which format would you like to see for the 2014 hurling league?

About the author:

Read next: