This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Sunday 9 December, 2018

Tipp, Wexford and Cork stars named on 20-man panel for hurling/shinty international

The Ireland senior and U21 teams will take on Scotland on Saturday.

shinty Lee Chin, James Barry and Conor Lehane have all been named in the squad.

THE IRELAND SENIOR and U21 panels for the 2017 hurling/shinty clashes have been announced today.

The Ireland U21 side will take on Scotland at 11.50am on Saturday at Bught Park in Inverness, followed at 2pm by the meeting of the two senior teams (both games live on TG4).

The senior panel shows 20 players drawn from 12 different counties, including Tipperary duo James Barry and John McGrath, Wexford’s Lee Chin and Cork’s Conor Lehane.

Westmeath’s Tommy Doyle will captain the team, but no players from All-Ireland finalists Galway or Waterford have been included.

There are also some notable names in the U21 panel, including Waterford senior stars Shane Bennett and Patrick Curran, and will be captained by Limerick’s Sean Finn.

The senior team is managed by Tipperary All-Ireland minor winning manager Willie Maher and Kilkenny’s Conor Phelan this year, while Willie Cleary and Gavin Keary will take charge of the U21s.

Hurling Shinty International 2017 Launch James Barry. Source: Piaras Ó Mídheach/SPORTSFILE

Hurling/Shinty International Tour 2017 Senior Panel

1. Enda Rowland (Laois)
2. James Barry (Tipperary)
3. Chris Bonus (Kildare)
4. Lee Chin (Wexford)
5. Paul Coady (Carlow)
6. Ben Conroy (Laois)
7. Alan Cox (Westmeath)
8. James Doyle (Carlow)
9. Tommy Doyle (Westmeath) – captain
10. Alan Grant (Derry)
11. Damien Healy (Meath)
12. Ross King (Laois)
13. Conor Lehane (Cork)
14. John McGrath (Tipperary)
15. John McManus (Down)
16. Mark Moloney (Kildare)
17. Andy O’Brien (Wicklow)
18. James O’Connor (Kerry)
19. David Reidy (Kildare)
20. Denis Stapleton (Kildare)

Hurling Shinty International 2017 Launch Sean Finn. Source: Piaras Ó Mídheach/SPORTSFILE

Hurling/Shinty International Tour 2017 U21 Panel

1. Stephen Murphy (Kerry)
2. Shane Bennett (Waterford)
3. Darragh Cartin (Derry)
4. Shane Conway (Kerry)
5. Patrick Curran (Waterford)
6. Killian Doyle (Westmeath)
7. Cathal Dunbar (Wexford)
8. Aaron Dunphy (Laois)
9. Sean Finn (Limerick) – captain
10. Kevin McDonald (Carlow)
11. Christy Moorehouse (Wicklow)
12. Ryan Mullaney (Laois)
13. Chris Nolan (Carlow)
14. Tomás O’Connor (Kerry)
15. Eoin O’Hehir (Kildare)
16. Conor Shaw (Westmeath)
17. Jack Sheridan (Kildare)
18. Ger Walsh (Antrim)
19. Sean Whelan (Carlow)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Angry Coventry City fan invades pitch to confront players mid-game

James McCarthy makes long-awaited return in U23 game

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel