This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 3 °C Friday 15 November, 2019

Iniesta named as Player of the Tournament at Euro 2012

The boy’s a genius, Bill. Meanwhile, ten Spanish players made it into the squad of the tournament.

Image: Tony Marshall/EMPICS Sport

ANDRES INIESTA WAS named player of Euro 2012 on Monday by European football governing body UEFA.

The 28-year-old Iniesta – who was man of the match in Spain’s historic 4-0 win over Italy in Sunday’s final – was selected by a technical committee made up of 11 people.

The Barcelona midfielder, who was also La Roja’s goalscoring hero in the 1-0 win over the Dutch in the 2010 World Cup final, was one of 10 Spaniards to figure in the 23-man squad of the tournament.

Spain’s victory saw them become the first national side to win an unprecedented three successive major titles having also won Euro 2008.

Meanwhile, the squad of the tournament was made up primarily of players who reached the semi-finals, with Steven Gerrard of England and Sweden’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic the only exceptions.

Bizarrely, there was no place for Fernando Torres, who was handed the Golden Boot award by virtue of the fact that he had played the fewest
minutes of all the players who scored three goals in the tournament.

Euro 2012 team of the tournament: Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Ita), Iker Casillas (Spa), Manuel Neuer (Ger)

Defenders: Gerard Pique (Spa), Fabio Coentrao (Por), Philipp Lahm (Ger), Pepe (Por), Sergio Ramos (Spa), Jordi Alba (Spa)

Midfielders: Daniele De Rossi (Ita), Steven Gerrard (Eng), Xavi (Spa), Andres Iniesta (Spa), Sami Khedira (Ger), Sergio Busquets (Spa), Mesut Ozil (Ger), Andrea Pirlo (Ita), Xabi Alonso (Spa)

Forwards: Mario Balotelli (Ita), Cesc Fabregas (Spa), Cristiano Ronaldo (Por), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Swe), David Silva (Spa)

Not a bad season after all: Torres scoops Golden Boot award >

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next: