Ryan Byrne/INPHO Ireland's Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe.
Team news
Ireland unchanged for France with highly-rated Murphy Crowe in line for debut
Adam Griggs has kept faith with the same starting XV which beat Wales 45-0.

IRELAND HEAD COACH Adam Griggs has named an unchanged team for Saturday’s Six Nations meeting with France in Donnybrook [KO 2.15pm, RTÉ 2].

Griggs has kept faith with the same starting 15 which beat Wales 45-0 in Cardiff last weekend, although there could be a debut for highly-rated Sevens star Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe.

The 25-year-old was the leading try-scorer on the 2018/19 World Series circuit, scoring 35 tries.

Murphy Crowe missed out on the matchday squad for Wales – with Griggs describing her as ‘a work in progress‘ – but is now named on the bench for the round two game against France having sufficiently impressed over the last week.

“I think there’s no secret of Amee-Leigh’s athletic ability and how dynamic [she is],” Griggs said.

“She has that X-factor that she brings to the Sevens stage. I know we spoke last week about her still learning some of the intricacies of the game. We had her in with us last week, she travelled to Wales so that she could get a good feel for preparation in terms of a test match and then obviously what it was all about on game day.

“To give her an opportunity this week at home, it’s important that it’s another step in her learning. If she can get on the park, I’m sure it will be good for her.”

The only other change to the matchday 23 sees hooker Emma Hooban come into the replacements.

That means Ireland are once again captained by Ciara Griffin at number eight, with Claire Molloy and Dorothy Wall completing the back row.

Aoife McDermott and Nichola Fryday continue their second row partnership while Lindsay Peat, Cliodhna Moloney and Linda Djougang scrum down in the front row.

In the backs, Eimear Considine continues at fullback with Lauren Delaney and Beibhinn Parsons completing a pacey back-three. 

The experienced Sene Naoupu lines out at centre to win her 40th cap, alongside 21-year-old Eve Higgins, who only made her debut last weekend, while Hannah Tyrrell and Kathryn Dane line out in the half-backs. 

A win against France – who beat Wales 53-0 on the opening weekend of the championship – would see Ireland play England for the shot at the Six Nations title on 24 April.


15. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian/Munster)

14. Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)

13. Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)

12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

11. Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Blackrock College/Connacht)

10. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

9. Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster)

1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)

2. Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/IQ Rugby)

3. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)

5. Nichola Fryday (Blackrock College/Connacht)

6. Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College/ Munster)

7. Claire Molloy (Wasps/IQ Rugby)

8. Ciara Griffin (Captain)(UL Bohemian/Munster)


16. Emma Hooban (Blackrock College/Leinster)
17. Katie O’Dwyer (Railway Union/Leinster)
18. Laura Feely (Blackrock College/Connacht)
19. Brittany Hogan (DCU/Old Belvedere/Ulster)
20. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College/Leinster)
21. Emily Lane (Blackrock College/Munster)
22. Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
23. Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union/Munster) 

Screenshot 2020-11-24 at 9.04.07 AM

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel