This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 16 °C Sunday 31 May, 2020

Ireland warm up for Australia International Rules test with 73 point win over VFL outfit

Good day for Paul Earley’s side.

Aidan O'Shea and Colm O'Neill tackle Jye Bolton Aidan O'Shea and Colm O'Neill tackle Jye Bolton Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

IRELAND’S INTERNATIONAL RULES side warmed up for next Saturday’s test against Australia with a comfortable win early this morning over a VFL selection in Sandringham, Melbourne.

Ireland had 73 points to spare as they cruised to a comfortable 100-27 win over the Victorian Football League representative outfit.

Cork’s Colm O’Neill spearheaded their scoring drive as he amassed 30 points with Donegal ‘s Michael Murphy bagging 19 points and there were also goals for Sean Cavanagh, Pearse Hanley and Aidan O’Shea.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Scorers for Ireland
Colm O’Neill (30: 4-1-3). Michael Murphy (19: 2-1-4), Aidan O’Shea (16: 1-3-1), Cathal Cregg (10: 4-1-3), Sean Cavanagh (9: 1-1-0), Pearse Hanley (6: 1-0-0), Ross Munnelly (5: 0-1-2), Colm Boyle (3: 0-1-0), Darren Hughes, David Moran (1: 0-0-1) each.Scorers for VFL Selection
A Cockie (9: 1-1-0), S Clouston, L Featherstone (4: 0-1-1) each, J Bolton, T Pinwill (3: 0-1-0) each, T O’Sullivan, N Rippon, B Davies, J Owen (1: 0-0-1) each.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


Niall Morgan (Tyrone)

Ciaran McDonald (Tipperary)
Neil McGee (Donegal)
Colm Boyle (Mayo)

Lee Keegan (Mayo)
James McCarthy (Dublin)
Kevin McKernan (Down)

Aidan Walsh (Cork)
Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone)

Cathal Cregg (Roscommon)
Colm Begley (Laois)
Pearse Hanley (Mayo, Brisbane Lions)

Colm O’Neill (Cork)
Michael Murphy (Donegal)
Ross Munnelly (Laois)

Matthew Donnelly (Tyrone)
Finian Hanley (Galway)
Darren Hughes (Monaghan)
Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo)
David Moran (Kerry),
Padraig O’Neill (Kildare)
Paddy O’Rourke (Meath)
Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


S Sherlock, B Cavarra, A Saad, T O’Sullivan, C Lockwood, N Rippon, T Paule, B Smithwick, T Gribble, A Marcon, B Mahon, L Tynan, J Bolton, J Geary, B Jolley, A Cockie, M Cook, N Newman, S Clouston, L Featherstone, J Magner, B Davies (0-0-1 [1]), J Owen, T Pinwill, E Panozza.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

A game for Anto raised MND awareness in Ravenhill last night

First county senior title after 19 years playing, now a Munster campaign beckons for Miskella

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: