Dan Sheridan/INPHO
# summer tour
Sexton and Zebo included in Ireland squad for Argentina Tests, D'Arcy and Madigan miss out
Tommy Bowe and Sean O’Brien also miss out as Schmidt calls upon Felix Jones, Robbie Diack, James Cronin, Rob Herring and Kieran Marmion.

IRELAND COACH JOE Schmidt has omitted Ian Madigan from his 30-man squad to face Argentina in two Tests next month.

The Kiwi has included four uncapped players in the group. Kieran Marmion of Connacht is the only uncapped back, while Robbie Diack, Rob Herring and James Cronin are included among the forwards.

Madigan’s omission came as Jonathan Sexton was called up, despite many suggestions that the out-half may well be rested after a long season of Lions, club and international rugby.

Paul O’Connell continues as captain, but in the first window without Brian O’Driscoll Gordon D’Arcy joins Cian Healy among those rested. Instead, the midfield options are made up by Luke Marshall, Darren Cave, Robbie Henshaw, Fergus McFadden and Keith Earls.

Tommy Bowe is another big name to sit out the summer tour, the back three opportunities given to Earls, McFadden, Simon Zebo, Andrew Trimble, Rob Kearney and Felix Jones.

Ireland squad to tour Argentina:

Forwards (16): Rory Best, James Cronin*, Robbie Diack*, Iain Henderson, Chris Henry, Jamie Heaslip, Rob Herring*, Dave Kilcoyne, Jack McGrath, Marty Moore, Jordi Murphy, Paul O’Connell, Mike Ross, Rhys Ruddock, Devin Toner, Damian Varley.

Backs (14): Darren Cave, Keith Earls, Robbie Henshaw, Paddy Jackson, Felix Jones, Rob Kearney, Kieran Marmion*, Luke Marshall, Fergus McFadden, Conor Murray, Eoin Reddan, Jonny Sexton, Andrew Trimble, Simon Zebo.

*denotes uncapped player.

5 players Joe Schmidt should include on Ireland’s summer tour to Argentina

Your Voice
Readers Comments